Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Freeze Detection  (Read 4114 times)

Badmunkie

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Freeze Detection
« on: January 10, 2008, 09:37:30 PM »

I have a water pressure boost pump that is outside under an insulated box.  I want to have a heat bulb that will come on only when the temp is below 32 degrees F to help keep the lines from freezing.  I found a module called a Freeze Clik that is used in the irrigation industry to turn irrigation pumps off in freezing conditions.  This item closes a set of contacts above 38 degrees F.  There is supposedly a Freeze Clik Reverse available but I have not been able to find one.

I want to connect this to a PF284 Powerflash to send a code to turn on the boost pump heat bulb below 38 degrees F.  The problem is that this configuration works in reverse of what I need.  It turns the bulb OFF below 38 degrees F.

I'm new to the AHP but do have the CM15A controlling some functions in my home.  How can I create a MACRO that will reverse the actions of the freeze detector and the Powerflash so that the boost pump heat bulb will turn ON when the contacts of the freeze detector are open?

Any and all suggestions will be appreciated.

'munkie

Knightrider

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: Freeze Detection
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2008, 10:09:09 PM »

munkie, a macro can be triggered either through and off signal or an on signal.  Your problem can be solved through programming and not extra hardware.
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

steven r

• Advanced Member
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Halloween with X10
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2008, 12:41:24 AM »