Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Problem Switching Cameras  (Read 12701 times)

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 94
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: Problem Switching Cameras
« Reply #15 on: February 01, 2008, 01:58:05 PM »

cyclonex10   You can not use unit 1  in your setup for a cam or the ninja!
THE REASON IS YOUR USING A TM751 IN THE SETUP!
The TM751 is unit 1 and will not send that info back onto the powerline to turn off another device with the same address!
You can use the ninjas powersupply to power the cams!
Switching from one cam to the other turns all other cams off but not if they are connected to a TM751 transceiver.
The TM751 Can't be turned off in this mannor! ;)

Tuicemen,
If I understand what you're saying, I think you're mistaken about the TM751 (at least the ones I have).   The built-in appliance module responds to RF signals only for unit 1, but the TM751 transceives RF signals for all units 1-16.

Maybe I didn't state clearly enough! ::) :(  :-[
I'm not stating that the TM751 will not retransmit\convert the RF signals to PL! It does it for all RF unit numbers 2-16!

You're again implying that the TM751 will not convert an RF signal on unit 1 to PLC.  It will!

Quote
As you stated
Quote
The TM751 is only a transmitter of powerline signals and has no powerline receiver, so the built-in appliance module will respond only to RF, not powerline signals.
This is the point I'm trying to make  ::) turning on another camera in the series sends a PL command out to turn the others off!
If one is attached to the TM751 it will not get the off signal!
Thus cyclonex10 can't use it for a cam plugged into it(it will remain always on unless they send the off signal via RF)Auto switching will not work!

True.  An RF On for unit 2 or unit 3 transceived by a TM751 will not turn off the TM751 unit 1 appliance module as it would a (properly working) X10 camera supply set to unit 1.

Quote
True a Pan & Tilt has an RF receiver built in, maybe I'm wrong but I was lead to believe it was only for movement!  ::)

Quote

You're correct.

I'm not stating A TM751 can't be used for camera operations! Just if you have a multi cam setup don't plug one of the cams into the TM751! ;)
If you do don't expect it to work as advertized! ::) ;) :D ;D

Agreed.
Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 271
  • Posts: 10010
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: Problem Switching Cameras
« Reply #16 on: February 01, 2008, 02:48:26 PM »

Quote from: Charles Sullivan
You're again implying that the TM751 will not convert an RF signal on unit 1 to PLC.  It will!
Thanks Charles Sullivan  my TM751 must be defective!   :( ??? ::) :-[
All these years running that and I just learned something new! ;) :D ;D


Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 94
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: Problem Switching Cameras
« Reply #17 on: February 01, 2008, 03:59:00 PM »

Quote from: Charles Sullivan
You're again implying that the TM751 will not convert an RF signal on unit 1 to PLC.  It will!
Thanks Charles Sullivan  my TM751 must be defective!   :( ??? ::) :-[
All these years running that and I just learned something new! ;) :D ;D

Perfectly understandable, and it may not even be defective by X-10's standards.

As we've seen in recent months, despite having identical part number and physical appearance, the module X-10 ships today may bear little resemblance to the module X-10 shipped yesterday.   :-\

Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.