Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Advice please  (Read 4695 times)

birdzeye

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 475
Advice please
« on: March 02, 2008, 09:53:47 PM »

Hi,

I have 8 unit codes on one house code so far (cameras + home automation modules) and am timing them with one MiniTimer2. However I hope to be getting more modules and am wondering what's the best route to take since the MiniTimer2 only can handle 8 units.

Should I get another Minitimer2 plus another tm751 transceiver for a different house code---will having 2 TM751's  and 2 MiniTimer2's create interference?---or should I get some kind of software or what??. The AHP software sounds a bit daunting to me and I would rather just stick to something like a MiniTimer but I'm not sure if this is feasible. Any suggestions appreciated!
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Advice please
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2008, 10:01:15 PM »

I suggest you get Active Home Pro/CM15A.   It's available at http://www.x10.com/activehomepro/activehome-pro.html.   It supports all 256 X10 Addresses.   It's much better than a Minitimer.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

birdzeye

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 475
Re: Advice please
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2008, 08:37:04 AM »

OK but will 2 minitimers + 2 tim751's work without problems (ie interference)?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 271
  • Posts: 10038
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: Advice please
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2008, 02:52:27 PM »

birdzeye
Since you wish to stay with the minitimer there isn't a problem. But since it only handles 8 unit codes and the TM751 will handle 16, your wasting usuable house codes!
Just remember to set them to different house codes! ;)
I have to agree with Dan Lawrence  look more into Active Home Pro.
AHP will still work with your mini timer and you shouldn't need the TM751!
And it will be cheaper in the long run to go with AHP as X10 continually has deals on this with all plug-in included! ;)
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

PrimeGuild

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 44
    • Software Solutions
Re: Advice please
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2008, 04:00:46 PM »

If you are interested in a software solution, I could easily cook up an small utility that'll let you monitor and use virtually all house codes.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 271
  • Posts: 10038
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: Advice please
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2008, 06:36:46 PM »

PrimeGuild I don't believe birdzeye   has a PC interface so a software solution won't work! ;)
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12790
Re: Advice please
« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2008, 07:42:44 PM »

The only problems with two MiniTimers and two TM751s would be if they tried to send at the sametime. The TM751s are not polite as they do not have a powerline receiver in them and just send when an RF signal is processed. If they don't send at the sametime there should be no problems. I don't know if the MT12A new Minitimer is polite. I kind of doubt it as it doesn't seem to have any receiving functions. I do know it has a better setup for timers and more than 4 events can be on one address.
Logged

PrimeGuild

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 44
    • Software Solutions
Re: Advice please
« Reply #7 on: March 27, 2008, 02:25:37 PM »

Tuicemen, I know, but I would still recommend installing a PC interface. I mean, whats the fun of using X10 without the pleasure of enjoying the convenience of macros, etc. ??? Using X10 without the PC interface is like having a car and no NAV unit.  :P
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 271
  • Posts: 10038
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: Advice please
« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2008, 02:46:54 PM »

Tuicemen, I know, but I would still recommend installing a PC interface. I mean, whats the fun of using X10 without the pleasure of enjoying the convenience of macros, etc. ??? Using X10 without the PC interface is like having a car and no NAV unit.  :P
I have to agree with you thats why I stated:
Quote
I have to agree with Dan Lawrence  look more into Active Home Pro.
AHP will still work with your mini timer and you shouldn't need the TM751!
And it will be cheaper in the long run to go with AHP as X10 continually has deals on this with all plug-in included!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

PrimeGuild

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 44
    • Software Solutions
Re: Advice please
« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2008, 12:21:10 PM »

I agree
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.