Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Controlling LED lights... what is the solution?  (Read 13833 times)

kevinvinv

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 45
Controlling LED lights... what is the solution?
« on: April 13, 2008, 03:06:51 PM »

OK-  I've seen a lot of talk about this but not a definitive and good solution.

The appliance module wont shut off LED lights completely.   I have clipped the diode and the jumper to disable remote sensing and still the LED's stay on.

So is there a commonly understood reliable solution to this or is the solution still in "development" ?

Thanks.
Logged

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 108
  • Posts: 2086
    • XTB Home Page
Re: Controlling LED lights... what is the solution?
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2008, 03:47:59 PM »

In addition to the remote sensing circuit, the appliance module includes a very low current sense circuit that monitors whether the relay is on or off.  I understand that clipping that circuit disables the normal on/off function.  While the current is less than half a milliamp, LEDs can continue to glow with just that minuscule current.

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12765
Re: Controlling LED lights... what is the solution?
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2008, 04:17:53 PM »

Well Jeff; It did on my test. Clipped the resistor used to sense if the relay is on or off and it chattered as it tried to see if it was on or off.
Also I believe the New style with surface mounted ICs maybe different and not sure if the jumper and diode are still there or easily removed.
Some use one small incandescent bulb to keep the LEDs from glowing and I believe one of our regulars [brain fade here] used a resistor across the LEDs to stop the glow.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2008, 04:20:26 PM by Brian H »
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6049
Re: Controlling LED lights... what is the solution?
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2008, 06:56:21 PM »

Use a Socket Rocket instead of Appliance Module. Works good.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

kevinvinv

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 45
Re: Controlling LED lights... what is the solution?
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2008, 11:11:59 AM »

I guess a resistor wired in the App Module makes a certain amount of sense=  there is room in there for this...

I think I'll try the socket rocket first though -  Thanks!!
Logged

kevinvinv

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 45
Re: Controlling LED lights... what is the solution?
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2008, 10:06:05 AM »

Using the adapters recommended -  I switched to the socket rocket... works great.  Problem solved I guess.  Thanks.
Logged

fefrie

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 8
Re: Controlling LED lights... what is the solution?
« Reply #6 on: November 25, 2008, 01:14:03 PM »

In my electric blanket thread I tried connecting the LEDs to an appliance module, and had the same problem you described, but for me it's ok if the LEDS are on 24/7 in a dimly lit fashion.  If the small bulbs or resistor are going to consume electricity anyways, might as well have a bit of light. -:)
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12765
Re: Controlling LED lights... what is the solution?
« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2008, 06:56:19 AM »

Yes the Socket Rocket has no sensing current to dimly light LEDs and flicker CFL bulbs. Since they also don't dim CFLs work in them. Though X10's official stand is not to use them for CFL bulbs.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7022
Re: Controlling LED lights... what is the solution?
« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2008, 09:12:20 AM »

....... Though X10's official stand is not to use them for CFL bulbs.

Any idea why?
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12765
Re: Controlling LED lights... what is the solution?
« Reply #9 on: November 26, 2008, 04:31:13 PM »

Technically the on off is still done by a triac and the AC maybe slightly altered. Maybe a CYA like some use the dimable CLF bulbs in Lamp Modules and they may or may not work.
I have has some brand of CFL bulbs that generated noise in a Socket Rocket that was not there when directly in the lamp.
I do know that many have had very good luck with Socket Rockets and CFL bulbs.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7022
Re: Controlling LED lights... what is the solution?
« Reply #10 on: November 26, 2008, 05:41:53 PM »

Technically the on off is still done by a triac and the AC maybe slightly altered. Maybe a CYA like some use the dimable CLF bulbs in Lamp Modules and they may or may not work.
I have has some brand of CFL bulbs that generated noise in a Socket Rocket that was not there when directly in the lamp.

Thanks Brian H!
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.