Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Vanguard Software v Active Home Pro  (Read 8799 times)

himolocarb

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 3
Vanguard Software v Active Home Pro
« on: May 22, 2008, 12:55:24 PM »

After much difficulty, I now have my single camera test system up and running with Vanguard Software. My problems are that I can't get the software to stay on-line and I cant connect to the server from work due to network protection which cannot be changed.
My home computer fails the connectivity test
Will I have more success with AHP software, or the same problems.
Logged

himolocarb

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 3
Re: Vanguard Software v Active Home Pro
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2008, 01:17:37 PM »

Replying to myself in the hopes this may help others.

For those at work with a popup blocker, if you hold the Ctrl key down while accessing gate.x10.com, it will automatically install the active x control and then ask if you want to install the software. If your computer will allow the program, next time you go to gate.x10.com, it pops right up.

So now all I'm left with is trying to make my home system connect through my wireless gateway to the x10 server.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 272
  • Posts: 10109
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: Vanguard Software v Active Home Pro
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2008, 01:53:31 PM »

I can connect with AHP but not Vanguard! :(
You'd think if one worked the other would! ::) Not the case here!  :(
Staying on line is a issue with everyone and is no fault of yours but the X10 server!
connecting threw a gateway(router) can be time consuming it involves filter,routing, and port forward settings, usually found in advanced settings!
Of coarse what exactly needs to be set will pepend on your routers manufacturer!
State the brand name and perhaps someone here can point you in the right direction!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

zach1234

  • Guest
Re: Vanguard Software v Active Home Pro
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2008, 08:53:09 PM »

I have had better success with Vanguard (but, the Sentinel Version of it). Try logmein.com its free and works 100% of the time (i Have tested it for 3 weeks now).
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.