Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: CM15a Antenna success! (guarded & not time tested...but...)  (Read 26090 times)

PajamaGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 32
  • Posts: 522

I was googling CM15a Reception and re-reading everything I could find.  Short of doing the "F" mod (I like the "DUAL" idea) - I've tried almost everything.  I've been unable to get my farthest DS10a (about 50' - and 3 walls) to talk via RF to my AHP - even with a SR731 at mid-point.  I'd just received a out-of-stock email on my order for another SR731, and was about to lower the WAF even more by sticking 18" of coat hanger over the front door (as a passive antenna) when I got an idea.

Long story short - cut a piece of CAT5 coax at 9½" and stripped it down to the bare center copper wire.  The only thing I did to the CM15a was remove the end-cap off the antenna.  Using a pair of needle-nose pliers and a Bic lighter, I heated 4" on 1 end and pushed it about ¼-½" into the antenna tube.  That's it.  I hung the CM15a back up in my office closet with the antenna out at about 90°.  It now picks up the repeated RF from SR731!!!!   And even better - it picks up the original RF from the DS10a!!!  Repeater is not needed!!!!

Yeah - yeah, Murphy lives at my house too - We'll see.  Give it a week and then I can break out the champagne!

                                        
For now, it's Miller Time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
>!
Logged
PajamaGuy
Win-7 - Dell XPS -Automation
VA12a on a dedicated desktop - Video
XTB-IIR & V572RF32

Remote via LogMeIn (FREE) and Ignition

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12690
Re: CM15a Antenna success! (guarded & not time tested...but...)
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2008, 04:14:31 PM »

Nice fix. For your reference information. Not sure about the newer CM51As but my originals actually have maybe another 9" of receiver antenna coiled inside the main case and someone extended theirs with a hobby plastic tube and just dragged the extra up into the tubing.
Logged

PajamaGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 32
  • Posts: 522
Re: CM15a Antenna success! (guarded & not time tested...but...)
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2008, 04:25:43 PM »

Yeah I read those - the one about cutting ½" of the tube, then soldering a 9" piece really is the one that got me thinking.
Logged
PajamaGuy
Win-7 - Dell XPS -Automation
VA12a on a dedicated desktop - Video
XTB-IIR & V572RF32

Remote via LogMeIn (FREE) and Ignition

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12690
Re: CM15a Antenna success! (guarded & not time tested...but...)
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2008, 06:40:02 PM »

Well it worked and you didn't have to disassemble the case. So it was a good solution for you.
Logged

PajamaGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 32
  • Posts: 522
Almost 12 hours now... Re: CM15a Antenna success!
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2008, 05:13:42 AM »

Mr. Murphy is still visiting somewhere else...  You'd think a 58-year old man wouldn't be so excited he'd get up at 3:00 a.m. to check the Activity Monitor ????

Yeah well - Only those who have spent hours, and walked miles back-and-forth...  Move that antenna just a tad... walk back and trip the sensor...look at the Activity Monitor...dang! 

Move that antenna just a tad... walk back and trip the sensor...look at the Activity Monitor...dang! 

Move that antenna just a tad... walk back and trip the sensor...look at the Activity Monitor...dang! 

Move that antenna just a tad... walk back and trip the sensor...look at the Activity Monitor...yippee!!!!
...close that door.. walk back and trip the sensor...look at the Activity Monitor...dang!

Open the door...Move that antenna just a tad... walk back and trip the sensor...look at the Activity Monitor...dang! 

Move that antenna just a tad... walk back and trip the sensor...look at the Activity Monitor...dang! 

And now it's:
11:34  Receive RF Front Door - Sensor Closed
12:37  Receive RF Front Door - Sensor Closed
 1:39  Receive RF Front Door - Sensor Closed
 2:40  Receive RF Front Door - Sensor Closed

Another interesting note:  Although the RF is being repeated by a single SR731, it's not affecting the system, nor showing in the Activity monitor so long as my V572RF32 is disabled.  With the Whole-house transceiver (mounted 36 inches from the SR731) is active, the Activity monitor reflects:

1. Original RF
2. V572RF32's transceived PLC
3. Repeated RF
4. V572RF32's repeated PLC



Logged
PajamaGuy
Win-7 - Dell XPS -Automation
VA12a on a dedicated desktop - Video
XTB-IIR & V572RF32

Remote via LogMeIn (FREE) and Ignition

x10challanged

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 102
Re: CM15a Antenna success! (guarded & not time tested...but...)
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2008, 07:56:17 AM »

Nice fix pajamaguy will be looking forward to progress reports.
Logged

PajamaGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 32
  • Posts: 522
If it ain't broke...
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2008, 10:52:08 AM »

 -:)  I'll take a picture!

...not framed just right...move it just a tad...click.

Hello Mr. Murphy!
Logged
PajamaGuy
Win-7 - Dell XPS -Automation
VA12a on a dedicated desktop - Video
XTB-IIR & V572RF32

Remote via LogMeIn (FREE) and Ignition

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5969
Re: Almost 12 hours now... Re: CM15a Antenna success!
« Reply #7 on: June 04, 2008, 12:07:46 PM »

Mr. Murphy is still visiting somewhere else...  You'd think a 58-year old man wouldn't be so excited he'd get up at 3:00 a.m. to check the Activity Monitor ????


PJs
I'm a 59 year old guy, and my bet is; you didn't get up JUST to check the Acitivity Monitor  rofl
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

PajamaGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 32
  • Posts: 522
Re: CM15a Antenna success! (guarded & not time tested...but...)
« Reply #8 on: June 04, 2008, 12:26:05 PM »

 :)%
...well, as long as I was up anyway...
Logged
PajamaGuy
Win-7 - Dell XPS -Automation
VA12a on a dedicated desktop - Video
XTB-IIR & V572RF32

Remote via LogMeIn (FREE) and Ignition

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12690
Re: CM15a Antenna success! (guarded & not time tested...but...)
« Reply #9 on: June 04, 2008, 04:14:27 PM »

You are not alone. I have  -:) in the middle of the night and had to check it out right now.  :'
Logged

KDR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 53
  • Posts: 758
    • Home Automation Chat
Re: CM15a Antenna success! (guarded & not time tested...but...)
« Reply #10 on: June 04, 2008, 07:16:05 PM »

This is just to funny rofl because I'm in the same boat from time to time.

 -:) one way to help you stay in bed is to make sure you have the CM15A hooked up to the computer, Change the time on the computer to say 5 minutes before the event you want to test then do a update to the CM15A from AHP. The CM15A will remember the new computer time then execute your timer or macro for testing. When your all done reset the time, update CM15A and enjoy staying in bed all night. (Awake and wondering if everything is working rofl)

----------------KDR
Logged
Note: "Guests" may read the X10 forum , but you must register to post!

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

sk1pmcgee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 22
Re: CM15a Antenna success! (guarded & not time tested...but...)
« Reply #11 on: January 25, 2010, 09:08:21 AM »

Worknig on doing a CM15a mod myself...I am not very electronically sound.  Do you have to use a CAT5 cable....or can I use something another then CAT5 cable....like an RG6 cable?

I know how to solder so that is not a problem.....but wanted to know what sort of wires i could hook up to the exisiting antenna
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12690
Re: CM15a Antenna success! (guarded & not time tested...but...)
« Reply #12 on: January 25, 2010, 11:15:21 AM »

Maybe a misprint. I have never seen "CAT5 coax"; but it could exsist.
Use the solid center conductor from a piece of RG6. If you choose to do the mod.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2010, 11:19:03 AM by Brian H »
Logged

Mellowmark

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 195
  • M M Electric
Re: CM15a Antenna success! (guarded & not time tested...but...)
« Reply #13 on: February 03, 2010, 07:31:20 AM »

Quote
Maybe a misprint. I have never seen "CAT5 coax"; but it could exsist.
Use the solid center conductor from a piece of RG6. If you choose to do the mod.

Maybe referring to the time when computer networks 10 base t and such used coax connections like RG59 or RG6.
Logged
M M ElectricMan

eagle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 187
Re: CM15a Antenna success! (guarded & not time tested...but...)
« Reply #14 on: February 03, 2010, 07:56:56 AM »

Just wondering.

Shouldn't this thread be better nested in the User Modified forum?

Thanks,
eagle
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.