Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Reduce Reuse Recycle  (Read 7925 times)

dbemowsk

• Helpful Post Rating: 21
    • PHP Web Scripting
Reduce Reuse Recycle
« on: February 05, 2010, 12:12:13 PM »

Being a computer tech, I have access to a lot of different electronic devices.  I was working on an Apple iBook laptop yesterday and was scavenging parts from another one.  I pretty much had all the useful parts taken from the thing and was going to throw it out when I noticed a small board inside the screen that had a magnetic reed switch on it.  I decided to salvage it for my powerflash module that I bought for my garage door status indicator.  That and a neodymium magnet salvaged from an old hard drive and I had a working door sensor (old hard drives are great places to get some REALLY strong magnets).

You would be surprised what kind of goodies you can salvage from old junk.  One man's junk is another man's treasure.

Dan B.
Dan Bemowski
Owner of PHP Web Scripting LLC
Programmer of RemoteWatch X10
User of any X10 products I can get my hands on.

HA Dave

• Helpful Post Rating: 175
Re: Reduce Reuse Recycle
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2010, 01:13:58 PM »

You would be surprised what kind of goodies you can salvage from old junk.  One man's junk is another man's treasure.

You are so right! Back in 2006 I decided I needed a Home Automation computer to accomplish what I wanted. Then one Wednesday morning when driving to work I realized that all the PC I needed was likely just setting out (curbside) waiting for trash pickup. I "rescued" an old P3 that needed a hard drive [I had an old HD in reserve]. I then bought more RAM for it (used) from a flea market. [knock on wood] it has been running my HA setup since. Besides the AHP suite I run BVC, WeatherAloud, and most recently BlueWatch.