Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: MAJOR BUG in v 3.228  (Read 33910 times)

paul warshawsky

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 102
MAJOR BUG in v 3.228
« on: June 08, 2008, 06:54:58 PM »

Fortunately I discovered this before relying on the new version.  When changing some features of timers the software seems to add "From January 1 to January 1" to the description of the timer.  I assumed that this was just a bad way of displaying "From Midnight Jan. 1 2008 to Midnight Jan 1 2009" but in fact it really means ONLY on Jan 1!!  This effectively disabled all my timers!  I opened the write of the EEPROM and confirmed this bug.  Going through all my timers and clicking "Daily" got rid of the "Jan 1-Jan 1" message and allowed them to work again.

This is a SERIOUS bug.  If you have not updated to version 3.228 yet I suggest that you DON'T until this is corrected.

If you want to reproduce this error try editing one of your timers, unclick the off time and then click it again.  It will now add "From January 1 to January 1" to the end of the description of the timer.  Now click "Daily" and this message will disappear.

I'm not sure if posing here will alert X10 to the problem.

Paul

Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: MAJOR BUG in v 3.228
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2008, 09:12:04 PM »

I tried adding a new LM15 to a room and adding a timer to it, closing AHP and reopened it, then made changes to the timer. No ""From January 1 to January 1" to the description of the timer was added.  I deleted the module and closed AHP, not saving anything.  Got any plug-ins?  They make changes to AHP.  I don't have any.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 272
  • Posts: 10111
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: MAJOR BUG in v 3.228
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2008, 11:42:44 AM »

I also tested this  with out noticing the date change and I have all plug-ins  ::)
How ever I did have many issues updating to this version as I posted here: Software problems version 3.228  (Read 1207 times)
A bad connection will screw up the program when installing in many ways :( :'
Wish X10 would supply a update file that didn't install from the net!  >*<
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: MAJOR BUG in v 3.228
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2008, 04:15:12 PM »

...Wish X10 would supply a update file that didn't install from the net!  >*<
Ditto. While almost all of my updates have installed flawlessly, I really pity anyone that might be forced to do an install with a slow or poor connection.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: MAJOR BUG in v 3.228
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2008, 09:35:03 PM »

paul warshawsky

Can you tell us what version of Windows you are running on and what version of AHP you upgraded from and what plugins you have for AHP?

I'm sure that info will be useful in helping X10 track down the problem.

Thanks!
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

paul warshawsky

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 102
Re: MAJOR BUG in v 3.228
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2008, 11:32:32 PM »

AHP and Smart Macros.  Updated from previous version (can't remember the version number but I'm always up to date).  Win XP Pro SP2.  I also have some extra debugging options (I think) related to helping with the many, many bugs early on.

I cannot do any timers that aren't daily - as soon as I try to modify the time to run only on certain days I get "From January 1 to January 1".  I cannot manually adjust the start and end dates - it just ignores my changes.

I notice that someone else is having a similar problem:

I update to 3.228 the other day and since then my timers simply won't trigger. I dug in and found that every single timer event is set to run from 01/01 to 01/01 and I can't make any date change stick. They should all be 01/01 to 31/12 as I use different timers for different days of the week.

Anyone else notice this? Right now I'm dead in the water. As soon as I make any change to a timer setting the date changes itself.

Bob

I hope this is fixed SOON, because as it is now the software is unusable for me.

Paul
Logged

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: MAJOR BUG in v 3.228
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2008, 01:09:33 AM »

paul warshawsky

Thanks for the specifics!

Looks like this is a broader problem than first thought.

I'm still dragging my heels and not upgrading, personally.   :'

Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: MAJOR BUG in v 3.228
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2008, 03:39:01 PM »

I'm guessing it's the Smart Macros add-in that's the root cause of the problem with 3.228.  I'm wondering why X10 jumped 22 version numbers for the upgrade from 3.204/3.206, they never did that before.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

jacadito

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: MAJOR BUG in v 3.228
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2008, 03:42:41 PM »

I have no trouble with 3.228... I've got (only) the SmartMacro plugin.
What other plugins are you using ?
Logged
ActivehomePro with CM15Pro, mainly used for controlling 11 blinds. Two MS13E sensors modified to react to strong light (sunlight) instead of dawn/dusk.

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: MAJOR BUG in v 3.228
« Reply #9 on: June 11, 2008, 04:08:11 PM »

...I'm wondering why X10 jumped 22 version numbers for the upgrade from 3.204/3.206, they never did that before.
Maybe a bunch of in house test versions that didn't make the grade.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

KDR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 53
  • Posts: 758
    • Home Automation Chat
Re: MAJOR BUG in v 3.228
« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2008, 07:04:40 PM »

I'm guessing it's the Smart Macros add-in that's the root cause of the problem with 3.228.  I'm wondering why X10 jumped 22 version numbers for the upgrade from 3.204/3.206, they never did that before.

Dan typically this is how the numbering system works...
3 - Major changes, features and most of the time changes in GUI
. - The decimal point
2 - Maybe some added features, bug fixes, program behavior
2 - Minor changes, program behavior, bug fixes
8 - Graphic/layout fixes, spelling corrections.

Keep in mind programmers/companies can and do change this around but you can get the idea of how its done. The more fixes in each category the higher the number goes. When it reaches 9 they may roll over the next larger place holder number.

----------------KDR
« Last Edit: June 11, 2008, 07:07:07 PM by KDR »
Logged
Note: "Guests" may read the X10 forum , but you must register to post!

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: MAJOR BUG in v 3.228
« Reply #11 on: June 11, 2008, 07:32:37 PM »

Thanks, but the jump this time was was the first time it jumped close to 24 numbers. Every upgrade before never jumped that much, look at the X10 software history.

Interestedly The Active Home Pro Software History STOPs with 3.204. No mention anywhere about either 3.206 or 3.228.
,
« Last Edit: June 11, 2008, 09:17:14 PM by Dan Lawrence »
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

JMac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 462
Re: MAJOR BUG in v 3.228
« Reply #12 on: June 11, 2008, 10:08:38 PM »

I hope I'm not jinxing myself, but my upgrade works fine, with none of the previously mentioned problems.  I also have all the plug-ins
Logged

paul warshawsky

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 102
Re: MAJOR BUG in v 3.228
« Reply #13 on: June 11, 2008, 11:24:14 PM »

I figured it out!

I have my Regional Settings (Control Panel>Regional and Language Options) set to a "custom" date format (yyyy-mm-dd).  Setting this to the US default corrects the problem.

I can now fix my timers, but I suggest X10 fix their program!

Paul
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 272
  • Posts: 10111
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: MAJOR BUG in v 3.228
« Reply #14 on: June 12, 2008, 12:22:52 AM »

I figured it out!

I have my Regional Settings (Control Panel>Regional and Language Options) set to a "custom" date format (yyyy-mm-dd).  Setting this to the US default corrects the problem.

I can now fix my timers, but I suggest X10 fix their program!

Paul
Good catch I did notice my regional settings reset to this as well with the upgrade but reset it before I went about testing the upgrade!
Best practice to get into with updates is to double check your settings many reset to defaults( of coarse that only true if Murphy is in your walls  rofl )
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.