Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: CM15A wireless control of TM751  (Read 4183 times)

wake5150

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
CM15A wireless control of TM751
« on: May 14, 2008, 10:21:32 AM »

New guy here,
  I'd like to be able to remotely reboot(power cycle) my Cable Modem in the basement.  The power in the basement is on different electrical service than computer room, so PLC is not possible, so I want to go wireless.

Can I hook a CM15a up to my PC upstairs and use a TM751 in the basement to control cable modem?  Once configured, will CM15a send ON/OFF control to TM751 wirelessly?

Is there a better/cheaper option?  Are there ANY appliance modules that receive commands thru RF?

Thanks!
-Chris
« Last Edit: May 14, 2008, 02:59:12 PM by wake5150 »
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12855
Re: CM15A wireless control of TM751
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2008, 04:14:23 PM »

The TM751 has no powerline receiver in it only an RF one. Since the CM15A has an RF transmitter in it. Maybe someone can give directions on sending an RF signal to the TM751s address as power line control is out.
Logged

Boiler

  • Guest
Re: CM15A wireless control of TM751
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2008, 04:27:15 PM »

The TM751 has no powerline receiver in it only an RF one. Since the CM15A has an RF transmitter in it. Maybe someone can give directions on sending an RF signal to the TM751s address as power line control is out.

We've got a thread going on that subject over here: http://www.x10community.com/forums/index.php?topic=15204.msg84641#msg84641
Logged

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 94
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: CM15A wireless control of TM751
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2008, 02:18:40 AM »

The TM751 has no powerline receiver in it only an RF one. Since the CM15A has an RF transmitter in it. Maybe someone can give directions on sending an RF signal to the TM751s address as power line control is out.

The last time I looked it was a simple matter of dragging the TM751 icon into the room and clicking the On or Off button.

Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

JimC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 41
  • Posts: 631
Re: CM15A wireless control of TM751
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2008, 06:48:57 AM »

Quote from:
The last time I looked it was a simple matter of dragging the TM751 icon into the room and clicking the On or Off button.
That's what I recall too. If that doesn't work there are RF functions that can be set up in macros.

Logged
_ _ ...  ..._ _

wake5150

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: CM15A wireless control of TM751
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2008, 10:58:51 AM »

Guys,
 Thanks for the reponses. I think I've got it now.  Thanks!

Now I can power cycle my cable modem when it freezes.

-Chris
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: CM15A wireless control of TM751
« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2008, 04:13:45 PM »

I might suggest a RR501 instead or the TM751.  The RR501 is more robust than the 751 and is more polite. Both work the same way but the 501 receives better and won't "step on" another RF signal. 
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Jsnlong

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 17
  • Posts: 351
    • XKAR
Re: CM15A wireless control of TM751
« Reply #7 on: June 25, 2008, 08:44:48 PM »

I know this post is a little older but I had a "why didn't I think of that"  idea.  My wireless router is always needing reset and I could do it with x10 and one of my remotes!!!!!!!  -:)   

I have been getting up and unplugging it and here I thought I was a automated guy!!!!!! Thanks
Logged
People are afraid of robots taking their jobs......The same jobs they complain all day about doing!!

Join the chat at http://www.bdshost.com/ac/

Coach of XKAR
Xenia Kids And Robots
www.xkar.org
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.