Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Neighbor's Sensors Trigger My Alarm....  (Read 8876 times)

Rallwest

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Neighbor's Sensors Trigger My Alarm....
« on: February 17, 2007, 03:05:02 PM »

Having been quite happy with this system I recommended it to my neighbor. I helped her install the system, but now sometimes her sensors trigger my system. When I have my system in RUN 2 mode, so that the base "dings" whenever a door is opened, periodically it 'dings' when she opens one of her doors. Somehow one, or more, of her sensors are associated with my base unit or are sending the same signal as the ones in my house.
I have tried reinstalling all my sensors over again, having disconnected the power and the battery, allowing it to erase its memory, but still my system is being triggered.
I have all new batteries in all my sensors.

...HELP...!
Logged

Puck

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
  • Posts: 1799
Re: Neighbor's Sensors Trigger My Alarm....
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2007, 03:49:29 PM »

I have tried reinstalling all my sensors over again, having disconnected the power and the battery, allowing it to erase its memory, but still my system is being triggered.

The chances are low, but nonetheless possible, that one of your sensors is set to the same security code as one of your neighbor's sensors.

If this is the case, simply reinstalling (re-registering) the sensors to the base will not change anything. What you have to do is remove the batteries from each sensor and when you replace them, press and hold the test button for 10 seconds. This will cause it to re-select a new random code.

Of course if you can determine the zone that the neighbors sensor is tripping on your system, then you just have to do this for that one sensor.

Either way, you will have to go through the whole re-install again.
Logged

Rallwest

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Neighbor's Sensors Trigger My Alarm....
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2007, 04:07:33 PM »

Thank you. I will try this.
Logged

jeffdharlan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 72
  • My home doesn't take sick days
Re: Neighbor's Sensors Trigger My Alarm....
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2007, 12:01:24 PM »

Would having the same House Code cause this?  Do you both have the same House Code?
Logged
What has your home done for you today?

Puck

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
  • Posts: 1799
Re: Neighbor's Sensors Trigger My Alarm....
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2007, 12:22:31 PM »

Would having the same House Code cause this?

The house code will not effect the security's sensors because they don't use a house code (they use a special security code instead).

If a neighbor is using an X10 system on the same house code as you, then it is possible for each of you to control the other's modules (lamp, appliance, etc.) that are set to that common house code.
Logged

zach1234

  • Guest
Re: Neighbor's Sensors Trigger My Alarm....
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2008, 10:42:28 PM »

Would having the same House Code cause this?

The house code will not effect the security's sensors
Some at x10 needs to know that.
Logged

Puck

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
  • Posts: 1799
Re: Neighbor's Sensors Trigger My Alarm....
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2008, 11:28:44 PM »

Would having the same House Code cause this?

The house code will not effect the security's sensors
Some at x10 needs to know that.

Please explain what you mean.
Logged

zach1234

  • Guest
Re: Neighbor's Sensors Trigger My Alarm....
« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2008, 11:35:06 PM »

They told me to do the house code change rofl
Logged

PajamaGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 32
  • Posts: 522
Re: Neighbor's Sensors Trigger My Alarm....
« Reply #8 on: June 24, 2008, 07:24:17 AM »

Quote
. When I have my system in RUN 2 mode, so that the base "dings" whenever a door is opened, periodically it 'dings' when she opens one of her doors. Somehow one, or more, of her sensors are associated with my base unit or are sending the same signal as the ones in my house.

Are you sure she's opening a door???   Remember, if you're set on RUN2, if you leave one of your doors open, the DS7000 will "ding" every hour or so when the DS10A "phones home" with its heartbeat....

Been there, scratched my head...
Logged
PajamaGuy
Win-7 - Dell XPS -Automation
VA12a on a dedicated desktop - Video
XTB-IIR & V572RF32

Remote via LogMeIn (FREE) and Ignition

tom j

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 16
  • Posts: 1270
Re: Neighbor's Sensors Trigger My Alarm....
« Reply #9 on: July 11, 2008, 10:46:15 PM »

hmmm... Say that really seems unlikely how many diffrent security code combinations are there, I forgot but it's over 300 isn't it?

Tom j.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.