Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: CM15A timers from VB  (Read 22570 times)

adagio

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 11
CM15A timers from VB
« on: July 06, 2008, 01:34:22 AM »

New X10 user here. Just installed a system to measure the weight of my septic pipe and shut off the water if a plug occurs. I wrote a program using VB5 to send the commands to the CM15A.

All is working well, but what I want to do is set a watchdog timer in the CM15A so if the program or PC dies, the CM15A will shut off the water after a time period. I've heard that the CM15A can run without a PC, so I know it can do it, but I can not find any information on how to program timers via a programming language.

Anyone know of any documentation that would help?

Thanks.
Logged

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: CM15A timers from VB
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2008, 01:56:11 AM »

At present, there is no way to write to the CM15A except using Active Home Pro.

Many are trying however.
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

adagio

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 11
Re: CM15A timers from VB
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2008, 11:47:46 AM »

You mean no way to write timers and such, right? Because I am writing On, Off, Dim, etc. commands with no problems.
Logged

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: CM15A timers from VB
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2008, 01:02:55 PM »

...Just installed a system to measure the weight of my septic pipe and shut off the water if a plug occurs....
Creative solution that I, as a city dweller, didn't realize was a common problem for septic tanks.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: CM15A timers from VB
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2008, 01:49:41 AM »

You mean no way to write timers and such, right? Because I am writing On, Off, Dim, etc. commands with no problems.

Correct, no way to save timers, macros, settings, etc. as AHP does.
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7025
Re: CM15A timers from VB
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2008, 04:30:47 AM »

............I want to do is set a watchdog timer in the CM15A so if the program or PC dies, the CM15A will shut off the water after a time period.

IF...."your program" could be set to turn Off a monitored code/device. The CM15A could certainly be "taught" to turn the monitored code/device (real or imaginary) ON and then delay and later react with the same devices ON condition being a condition within the macro. So as long as "your program" turned the monitored code/device OFF before the end of the delay... there would be no further action (automatic water shut-off).

In other words: watchdog timer in the CM15A so if the program or PC dies, the CM15A will shut off the water after a time period
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

adagio

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 11
Re: CM15A timers from VB
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2008, 05:29:44 PM »

Yes, that is what I want to do. So how do I program the CM15A with a timer? You mean use AHP to do that part? (Haven't actually used AHP yet.)
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7025
Re: CM15A timers from VB
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2008, 05:44:02 PM »

You mean use AHP to do that part? (Haven't actually used AHP yet.)
Yep.... thats what I meant. The ONLY way to get the CM15A to remember ANYTHING... is via the AHP. So mixing and matching of the AHP and your program will be required.
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

adagio

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 11
Re: CM15A timers from VB
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2008, 10:05:35 PM »

Hmmm. Looks like someone needs to reverse-engineer AHP.  :'
Logged

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: CM15A timers from VB
« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2008, 11:42:30 PM »

Hmmm. Looks like someone needs to reverse-engineer AHP.  :'

Any takers?   :'
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7025
Re: CM15A timers from VB
« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2008, 05:09:47 AM »

Hmmm. Looks like someone needs to reverse-engineer AHP.  :'

Any takers?   :'

Well I certainly should have stayed out of this thread! Bill- (of wgjohns.com) has done more with the CM15A and AHP his BVC software than maybe anyone else (although there ARE OTHERS THAT HAVE DONE MUCH). I am a big fan of BVC and have found it to work VERY well with the AHP.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2009, 12:58:38 AM by Dave_x10_L »
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.