Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Curious...possible to go from X-10 RF to IR?  (Read 8203 times)

aslamma

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 76
Curious...possible to go from X-10 RF to IR?
« on: August 07, 2008, 07:18:16 PM »

Hey...was wondering if there was a unit that would convert an X-10 RF command from a slimline switch to a learned IR signal. 

I was thinking this would be a good way for me to change the volume/skip songs/or do some simple commands from a remote location.  Since X-10 rf is a pretty popular protocol and the slimline switches are cheap, then a device that would do this would seemingly come in handy.  Does it exist or are there other options out there to do this? 

Sure I can use this: http://www.universalremote.com/product_detail.php?model=136
But I would rather save the $500 / location.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6830
Re: Curious...possible to go from X-10 RF to IR?
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2008, 12:57:28 PM »

Hey...was wondering if there was a unit that would convert an X-10 RF command from a slimline switch to a learned IR signal. 

Yes! The newest BVC (Bill's Voice Commander) with IR control can convert and send an IR signal using the USB-UIRT. BVC could even allow you to simply Voice Command an audio/video device for that matter.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2009, 02:22:08 AM by -Bill- (of wgjohns.com) »
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

aslamma

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 76
Re: Curious...possible to go from X-10 RF to IR?
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2008, 07:39:35 PM »

No kidding, so I can basically bypass the actual voice commands and just use BVC as a translator?  That would be great!  I am looking forward to trying that out. 
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6830
Re: Curious...possible to go from X-10 RF to IR?
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2008, 09:34:43 PM »

... I can basically bypass the actual voice commands and just use BVC as a translator? 

Yes. BVC is an awesome software. When used in conjuntion with AHP it's use is limited only by our imaginations. The possibilities are endless.
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

aslamma

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 76
Re: Curious...possible to go from X-10 RF to IR?
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2008, 09:20:05 PM »

So as great as BVC is...one would still need a dedicated computer running 24/7 to accomplish this task.  Is there a device out there that would do this in a more direct manner?

I have to say I am a bit surprised there isn't something out there...whether it be X-10 or not, but the nice thing about X-10 is that the slimswitches are cheap.  All it has to do is translate an RF signal to an infrared signal and have learning capability.  Am I the only who wants to use some common commands such as volume, skip songs, etc with something simple like a slimswitch? 
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6830
Re: Curious...possible to go from X-10 RF to IR?
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2008, 09:25:04 PM »

..............  Am I the only who wants to use some common commands such as volume, skip songs, etc with something simple like a slimswitch? 

Well... if you mean like the only person on the entire planet Earth... Yeah that would be my guess.
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

aslamma

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 76
Re: Curious...possible to go from X-10 RF to IR?
« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2008, 11:53:48 PM »

That is not true because one of my friends wants this exact thing too...granted, it is my imaginary friend.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6830
Re: Curious...possible to go from X-10 RF to IR?
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2008, 10:31:36 AM »

I would guess you could use a standard learning remote.... to program in the codes you would like to trigger/activate. Then hack the buttons you need pressed. The buttons contacts could be closed using universal modules. Assign the modules the codes that correspond to the slim-switches you want to use.
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.