Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: 5 amp Noise Filters - How much is 5 amps?  (Read 5369 times)

PajamaGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 32
  • Posts: 522
5 amp Noise Filters - How much is 5 amps?
« on: August 22, 2008, 11:41:47 AM »

I bought some 5 amp noise filters.
What happens is I plug in more than 5 amps?
How much is 5 amps? 
I have my PC, Monitor, Wireless router and Modem plugged into a UPS.  Can I plug the UPS into a 5 amp filter?
Can I plug my HDTV, AV Receiver, and DVR on one surgeprotecting power strip into a 5 amp filter?
How about all those little transformers for DC power to PC speakers, wireless keyboard, wireless mouse receivers, phones, etc?

Thanks!
Logged
PajamaGuy
Win-7 - Dell XPS -Automation
VA12a on a dedicated desktop - Video
XTB-IIR & V572RF32

Remote via LogMeIn (FREE) and Ignition

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 107
  • Posts: 2059
    • XTB Home Page
Re: 5 amp Noise Filters - How much is 5 amps?
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2008, 12:44:24 PM »

I bought some 5 amp noise filters.
What happens is I plug in more than 5 amps?
How much is 5 amps? 
I have my PC, Monitor, Wireless router and Modem plugged into a UPS.  Can I plug the UPS into a 5 amp filter?
Can I plug my HDTV, AV Receiver, and DVR on one surgeprotecting power strip into a 5 amp filter?
How about all those little transformers for DC power to PC speakers, wireless keyboard, wireless mouse receivers, phones, etc?

Power = Voltage X Current (amps).  So, 5A is equivalent to 600 watts at 120V.  The 5A XPPF will run warm at 5A, and will begin to stink if pushed too hard.

A typical PC, monitor and router will run fine on a XPPF.  You will have to check the maximum draw on your UPS.  A large UPS could pull quite a bit more when charging its batteries.  Those little "wallwarts" won't add up to much.  Your A/V powerstrip should be fine too unless you have a high power amplifier and like earthquake-level bass.  Just add up the wattage numbers.

Jeff
« Last Edit: August 22, 2008, 12:51:43 PM by JeffVolp »
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

JMac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 462
Re: 5 amp Noise Filters - How much is 5 amps?
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2008, 01:57:18 PM »

I have several 5 amp SmartHome FilterLinc Model 1626 filters.  In case you were to blow a 5 amp fuse on those, the replacement is straight-forward, with only some simple soldering required, but if there is any doubt of load go for the 10 amp filters.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.