Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Mounting Door/Window sensors?  (Read 6557 times)

gcpdpaul

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Mounting Door/Window sensors?
« on: September 19, 2008, 10:48:06 PM »

Hey everyone!

I am Brand New to the X10 community as I just received my first X10 console.  I have searched the forum and have not found an answer to my question. 

When I started to line up my door/window sensors to mount them, I noticed that because of the molding around my doors, my sensors will not be flush with each other.  They are about 1/8 to 1/4 inches off (molding side is higher than the actual door.

I am just curious...... do these sensors need to be 100% flush with each other to operate correctly, or will the max of 1/4 inch off be enough to keep the signal between the one mounted on the door and the one mounted on the molding.

Thanks in advance!

BaBaLou.

• Helpful Post Rating: 16
Re: Mounting Door/Window sensors?
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2008, 04:59:30 AM »

Hi gcpdpaul and welcome to the Forum and the world of X10.

I am just curious...... do these sensors need to be 100% flush with each other to operate correctly, or will the max of 1/4 inch off be enough to keep the signal between the one mounted on the door and the one mounted on the molding.