Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Best way to set Home/Away timers in AHP?  (Read 2286 times)

Geewiz

• Helpful Post Rating: 1
Best way to set Home/Away timers in AHP?
« on: October 20, 2008, 05:20:31 PM »

As a creature of habit, I've been using AHP for a couple years now to primarily control lights on timers.  I set up all the timers and save an .ahx file as (for instance) Away.ahx

Now, when home, and for WAF reasons, I only want a few of those lights on timers.  So I basically take the Away.ahx file, turn off all the timers I don't want running, save it as Home.ahx, then clear the CM15A and load the Home.ahx file.

This works, but it's a hassle, and I'm thinking there must be a more elegant way to do this.  

Is there a better way?

HA Dave

• Helpful Post Rating: 175
Re: Best way to set Home/Away timers in AHP?
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2008, 02:51:37 AM »

I set up all the timers and save an .ahx file as (for instance) Away.ahx  ........turn off all the timers I don't want running, save it as Home.ahx, then clear the CM15A and load the Home.ahx file.
This works, but it's a hassle, and I'm thinking there must be a more elegant way to do this. Is there a better way?

There most certainly is! Actually there is probability several better ways to do that. I will give you my idea.... others can give you theirs.

Make your home and away timers into macros. Make the macros conditional macros.... so they look to see if a certain module is ON (as a condition before they activate). The certain module that must be ON for the macro to procede..... must be a monitored module.

Say the monitored code is M... and the at home code is 1 and the away code is 2. If you leave (and want the away macros/timers to run) you would turn M2 ON (using a remote)... so the away macros would operate. When you return home you can turn M1 ON so the at home macros run.... (and turn M2 OFF again, using a remote so the away macro don't).