Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: PC to TV package problems  (Read 23043 times)

oldcrow81

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
PC to TV package problems
« on: October 09, 2008, 03:56:01 PM »

 I am a 81 year old  newbie and need some help.

My PC to TV audio/video package includes the following components :

VT37A  audio/video sender
VR 38A audio/video receiver
UR89A  Lola remote

The VT37A is connected to my PC (Running Vista) from my VGA connector and sound card.
The VR38A  is connected to my TV input.
I downloaded the driver for the VT37A and installed this on my computer.
My usb connection is plugged in.
Power buttons are turned ON.
My PC monitor  is working fine.

I only receive audio on my TV, NO video.
My TV screen turns green when I turn on the sender and receiver

I tried all the channels on the VT37A and VR38A, still no video
I tried to aim the antennas in different positions (up, down ,sideways etc. Still no video.

What can I do to make this system will work ?
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6894
Re: PC to TV package problems
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2008, 05:39:23 PM »


I only receive audio on my TV, NO video. My TV screen turns green when I turn on the sender and receiver


Well it sounds like your close! A blue or green screen usually indicates that your not receiving a signal. But the audio would indicate that you are. How are you connect to the TV:
  • If your connected via a input be sure to use your input selector button [on your remote] to get to the proper input.
  • Make sure that the audio and video use the same input.
  • If your using a channel selection (3 or 4) make sure the TV is set to the correct channel.
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

bugmenot

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 6
Re: PC to TV package problems
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2008, 12:52:34 AM »

i am having the exact same problem......
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6894
Re: PC to TV package problems
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2008, 09:10:22 PM »

i am having the exact same problem......

And... have you tried the things below?

  • If your connected via a input be sure to use your input selector button [on your remote] to get to the proper input.
  • Make sure that the audio and video use the same input.
  • If your using a channel selection (3 or 4) make sure the TV is set to the correct channel.
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

jasdesignz

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: PC to TV package problems
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2008, 02:33:58 AM »

I have same problem.  I did check all those areas. Could it have anything to do with a VCR connected to TV?  Also, my PC is already connected to a HDTV, not a regular computer monitor, and I am trying to send video to a regular TV.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6894
Re: PC to TV package problems
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2008, 03:06:37 PM »

I have same problem.  I did check all those areas. Could it have anything to do with a VCR connected to TV? ......and I am trying to send video to a regular TV.

OK... your sending VGA to a TV/Monitor... and 2.4 GHZ to the regular TV (with a VCR also connected).

  • Are you connecting to the TV or the VCR
  • Are you connecting using the antenna connection or the RCA connections
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

jasdesignz

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: PC to TV package problems
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2008, 04:16:05 PM »


OK... your sending VGA to a TV/Monitor... and 2.4 GHZ to the regular TV (with a VCR also connected).

  • Are you connecting to the TV or the VCR
  • Are you connecting using the antenna connection or the RCA connections

I am connecting to the TV and using the RCA connections (By the way, I don't subscribe to broadcast TV service -- I just have high-speed internet).
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6894
Re: PC to TV package problems
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2008, 04:44:47 PM »

I am connecting to the TV and using the RCA connections

And when you select the source... being the RCA audio/video in... you get nothing?

Try putting a movie (recorded tape) into the VCR and then replace the video receiver with the VCR (known... working device) using the same RCA connections. If the VCR works without any changes to the TV's settings.... the receiver should also..... so you may have a range issue. If changing the settings [source selection] on the TV allows you to see the VCR... then you have a new viewing setting.

If it is a range issue. [the sending unit] Being close to both a computer and a LCD TV may be causing interference. Try moving the sending unit as afar away fro those device as you can (and closer to the receiving TV if possible).
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

jasdesignz

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: PC to TV package problems
« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2008, 04:54:23 PM »

No, it is not a range issue (rooms are adjacent to one another).  I called x10 customer support today and the person said that it has to do with the video card in my computer, but that today there were not any computer support people available because of the weather! (?)  It surprises me that X10 doesn't post any resolutions to these problems on the forum or in a FAQ section.  Anyways, since the computer people are not available today at X10, does anyone know what the video card settings should be for this type of problem?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12731
Re: PC to TV package problems
« Reply #9 on: December 22, 2008, 07:04:20 PM »

Have you looked in the X10 Knowledgebase? There maybe more hints there also.
http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/Main_Page
Logged

jasdesignz

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: PC to TV package problems
« Reply #10 on: December 22, 2008, 08:17:19 PM »

Thanks.  I checked there under Lola, and it says:

"Check that your video card's video output is turned on. Open the Windows Control Panel, go to the Display control panel, go to the Settings tab, and look for the output settings--usually under 'Advanced.' See your video card support for more help." 

I have NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE.  I looked in the Advanced settings, but I didn't find anything to indicate whether "video output is turned on" per the knowledgebase.  Wouldn't it be turned on if I am otherwise able to see video from the Internet onscreen?  This is so confusing.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2008, 08:21:18 PM by jasdesignz »
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.