Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Gonna TRY a smart macro, but...............  (Read 23612 times)

idbl_fanatic

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 188
Gonna TRY a smart macro, but...............
« on: October 20, 2008, 11:33:25 PM »

Not sure how to do it.............

I have an eagle eye set up to turn on my kitchen lights when anyone enters the kitchen (C13), and off after 1 min of no activity, so what I would like to do, is set up a macro so that say between the hours of 10:30 PM and 5 am if it is triggered it will only light the light say 40%

Can this be done? I have never used or set up a smart macro before. But I'm learning!

It is set up as a LM14A and it does dim.

Thanks!!
« Last Edit: October 20, 2008, 11:48:56 PM by idbl_fanatic »
Logged

PajamaGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 32
  • Posts: 522
Re: Gonna TRY a smart macro, but...............
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2008, 07:28:39 AM »

Well, since you want the light to come on 100% of the time, I'd leave the MS14A's direct activation/deactivation alone.  (Unless you are using new soft-starts and want the lights to ramp up to only 40%)

Then I'd simply write a macro that triggers on the MS14A and have it dim the light to 40%.  Put condition that says if the time is between 5 a.m. and 10:30 p.m. to do nothing, ELSE ramp down to 40%.  (Sometimes time-span macros don't like crossing midnight)

The MS14A will still be the "OFF"

(You may have to experiment with a couple of seconds' delay, but the MS14A's direct "ON" should be faster than the macro anyway.)

Now if you want to soft-start and only ramp up to 40%, I think you'll have to use only macros and not direct addressing.
Logged
PajamaGuy
Win-7 - Dell XPS -Automation
VA12a on a dedicated desktop - Video
XTB-IIR & V572RF32

Remote via LogMeIn (FREE) and Ignition

idbl_fanatic

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 188
Re: Gonna TRY a smart macro, but...............
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2008, 10:14:15 AM »

ok, you TOTALLY lost me......................

LOL

I have NEVER even written a macro, I tried last night, and the light wouldn't even come on at all when I walked in there. And this was after 10:30 pm

Ok, one more thing............my eagle eye, and the light switch are both on C13, should I change that? say make the eagle eye C13, and the switch C16?
« Last Edit: October 21, 2008, 11:07:57 AM by idbl_fanatic »
Logged

PajamaGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 32
  • Posts: 522
Re: Gonna TRY a smart macro, but...............
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2008, 02:30:10 PM »

Ok, this might have to come in chunks, and I'll bet Dave or Puck or Tuicemen already has it done & better, but:

I'm going to run out of time so in English (I'll write psuedo-code later):

Leave C13 for both MS14 & light.
------------------------------------------
Macro C13  - Trigger=C13=ON
Condition = FLAG#2 = CLEAR
Action
1. Set FLAG#2=ON
2. Delay 10 seconds
3. Set C13=40%
4. Delay 30 Seconds
5. Set FLAG#2=CLEAR
----------------------------------------
Save the file
Walk into the kitchen.  The light should come on 100 bright. Get out of the range of the MS14, but keep watching.  After 10 seconds it should dim.  After whatever you have the MS14's delay set to, it should go off.

Once you get that working we can go to the next step.  (The FLAG#2 is set to prevent subsequent C13=ON's from re-triggering the macro while it's running)

More later
Logged
PajamaGuy
Win-7 - Dell XPS -Automation
VA12a on a dedicated desktop - Video
XTB-IIR & V572RF32

Remote via LogMeIn (FREE) and Ignition

idbl_fanatic

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 188
Re: Gonna TRY a smart macro, but...............
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2008, 02:53:19 PM »

Ok, this might have to come in chunks, and I'll bet Dave or Puck or Tuicemen already has it done & better, but:

I'm going to run out of time so in English (I'll write psuedo-code later):

Leave C13 for both MS14 & light.
------------------------------------------
Macro C13  - Trigger=C13=ON
Condition = FLAG#2 = CLEAR
Action
1. Set FLAG#2=ON
2. Delay 10 seconds
3. Set C13=40%
4. Delay 30 Seconds
5. Set FLAG#2=CLEAR
----------------------------------------
Save the file
Walk into the kitchen.  The light should come on 100 bright. Get out of the range of the MS14, but keep watching.  After 10 seconds it should dim.  After whatever you have the MS14's delay set to, it should go off.

Once you get that working we can go to the next step.  (The FLAG#2 is set to prevent subsequent C13=ON's from re-triggering the macro while it's running)

More later

Ok, the only thing that I DON'T understand is this: Condition = FLAG#2 = CLEAR

How do I add this as a condition? I can only get "check if flags are on of off"

Thanks
Logged

PajamaGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 32
  • Posts: 522
Re: Gonna TRY a smart macro, but...............
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2008, 03:04:45 PM »

Right, check if Flag#2 is CLEAR (OFF)


Logged
PajamaGuy
Win-7 - Dell XPS -Automation
VA12a on a dedicated desktop - Video
XTB-IIR & V572RF32

Remote via LogMeIn (FREE) and Ignition

PajamaGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 32
  • Posts: 522
Re: Gonna TRY a smart macro, but...............
« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2008, 03:08:13 PM »

Sorry - Because in different places there are different words, when talking about the 16 FLAGS in the CM15A, I use "SET" & "CLEAR", when using modules as PHANTOMS (which I sometimes call "Flags") I use "ON" & "OFF".  Clear as mudd?
Logged
PajamaGuy
Win-7 - Dell XPS -Automation
VA12a on a dedicated desktop - Video
XTB-IIR & V572RF32

Remote via LogMeIn (FREE) and Ignition

idbl_fanatic

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 188
Re: Gonna TRY a smart macro, but...............
« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2008, 03:29:17 PM »

Sorry - Because in different places there are different words, when talking about the 16 FLAGS in the CM15A, I use "SET" & "CLEAR", when using modules as PHANTOMS (which I sometimes call "Flags") I use "ON" & "OFF".  Clear as mudd?

Yeah clear as mud LOL

Ok, this is what I got set up, it is a little different wording.............

Kitchen on macro:

Trigger conditions C13 On and
Flag status off - 2 and
it's after 10:30 pm and
it's before 5:00 am
End Trigger Conditions
Set Flag [2]
Brighten C13 by 40%


Kitchen off macro:

Clear flags [2]


YAY, NAY??

Thanks for all the help
Logged

idbl_fanatic

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 188
Re: Gonna TRY a smart macro, but...............
« Reply #8 on: October 21, 2008, 08:12:16 PM »

ok, this is not working, the light will not shut off, the switch is showing that it is off, but it is still showing 100% and it is on.
Logged

idbl_fanatic

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 188
Re: Gonna TRY a smart macro, but...............
« Reply #9 on: October 21, 2008, 10:05:23 PM »

Ok, this might have to come in chunks, and I'll bet Dave or Puck or Tuicemen already has it done & better, but:

I'm going to run out of time so in English (I'll write psuedo-code later):

Leave C13 for both MS14 & light.
------------------------------------------
Macro C13  - Trigger=C13=ON
Condition = FLAG#2 = CLEAR
Action
1. Set FLAG#2=ON
2. Delay 10 seconds
3. Set C13=40%
4. Delay 30 Seconds
5. Set FLAG#2=CLEAR
----------------------------------------
Save the file
Walk into the kitchen.  The light should come on 100 bright. Get out of the range of the MS14, but keep watching.  After 10 seconds it should dim.  After whatever you have the MS14's delay set to, it should go off.

Once you get that working we can go to the next step.  (The FLAG#2 is set to prevent subsequent C13=ON's from re-triggering the macro while it's running)

More later

This wont work either........... never dims........
Logged

idbl_fanatic

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 188
Re: Gonna TRY a smart macro, but...............
« Reply #10 on: October 21, 2008, 10:24:16 PM »

Sorry - Because in different places there are different words, when talking about the 16 FLAGS in the CM15A, I use "SET" & "CLEAR", when using modules as PHANTOMS (which I sometimes call "Flags") I use "ON" & "OFF".  Clear as mudd?

Yeah clear as mud LOL

Ok, this is what I got set up, it is a little different wording.............

Kitchen on macro:

Trigger conditions C13 On and
Flag status off - 2 and
it's after 10:30 pm and
it's before 5:00 am
End Trigger Conditions
Set Flag [2]
Brighten C13 by 40%


Kitchen off macro:

Clear flags [2]


YAY, NAY??

Thanks for all the help

Ok, strange enough, this only works IF I click on "Run Macro" then it will work, but it wont work if I let the eagle eye activate it.
Logged

PajamaGuy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 32
  • Posts: 522
Re: Gonna TRY a smart macro, but...............
« Reply #11 on: October 22, 2008, 05:14:44 AM »

In the AHP TOOLs->Preferences->Macro Options, Check the Box that says "Issue ON in place of bright".
...and are you TRANSCEIVING "C"?
Logged
PajamaGuy
Win-7 - Dell XPS -Automation
VA12a on a dedicated desktop - Video
XTB-IIR & V572RF32

Remote via LogMeIn (FREE) and Ignition

idbl_fanatic

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 188
Re: Gonna TRY a smart macro, but...............
« Reply #12 on: October 22, 2008, 10:10:47 AM »

In the AHP TOOLs->Preferences->Macro Options, Check the Box that says "Issue ON in place of bright".
...and are you TRANSCEIVING "C"?


Not sure what you mean by "and are you TRANSCEIVING "C""

Also, I played around with it a little more last night, and I re-created the MACRO, and it worked, BUT in the "OFF" time (before the macro should be active) the lights will come on to 100% and then dim to 40%
Logged

idbl_fanatic

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 188
Re: Gonna TRY a smart macro, but...............
« Reply #13 on: October 22, 2008, 11:11:12 AM »

ok, so going back to this one just to test.............

Leave C13 for both MS14 & light.
------------------------------------------
Macro C13  - Trigger=C13=ON
Condition = FLAG#2 = CLEAR
Action
1. Set FLAG#2=ON
2. Delay 10 seconds
3. Set C13=40%
4. Delay 30 Seconds
5. Set FLAG#2=CLEAR


This works................UNTIL I put a time frame on it, then it won't execute, the Macro button flashes, but it seems that the macro don't run, the light just comes on normally.
Logged

Boiler

  • Guest
Re: Gonna TRY a smart macro, but...............
« Reply #14 on: October 22, 2008, 01:31:55 PM »

Ok, strange enough, this only works IF I click on "Run Macro" then it will work, but it wont work if I let the eagle eye activate it.

Clicking on the macro "forces" it to execute - it bypasses all of the conditions you have set.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.