Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5

Author Topic: new high resolution va12a?  (Read 106522 times)

birdzeye

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 475
new high resolution va12a?
« on: November 13, 2008, 11:37:00 AM »

Anyone used it yet? Be nice if it were true and lived up to the advertising. Having been burned by the poor image quality and non-functionality of the "old" va11a, I'm skeptical. ::)
Logged

wvms

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: new high resolution va12a?
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2008, 12:17:47 PM »

As always, the ads are full of sizzle but don't tell us anything about what cut of steak they're serving. What does "Hi-Res" mean? That the old system munged 640x480 doiwn to QVGA or overcompressed and this one doesn't?  And "HD?" I can't believe they're offering a 720p or 1080i camera...
Logged

Don N

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 14
  • Posts: 311
Re: new high resolution va12a?
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2008, 06:18:16 PM »

birdzeye -- Thanks for posting this question.  I was wondering the same thing.  Anyone using the VA11A and then updating to the VA12A?  I would be willing to toss in a few bucks, along with several other folks, to have someone buy it and test it.   -:)
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6835
Re: new high resolution va12a?
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2008, 09:22:16 PM »

...... And "HD?" I can't believe they're offering a 720p or 1080i camera...

I have often wondered (mused) about when the cameras would go Hi-Def. It's only a matter of time isn't it.
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: new high resolution va12a?
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2008, 02:21:18 AM »

...Anyone using the VA11A and then updating to the VA12A?...
Yes and I'm very pleased with the improved resolution of the VA12A.
The ad below says the VA12A is "new and improved 720 x 480 resolution". I don't know what the resolution is for the VA11A but the VA12A is clearly better for me.

http://www.x10.com/promotions/va12a_ed_hires_1112.html
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: new high resolution va12a?
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2008, 03:03:17 AM »

...Anyone using the VA11A and then updating to the VA12A?...
Yes and I'm very pleased with the improved resolution of the VA12A.
The ad below says the VA12A is "new and improved 720 x 480 resolution". I don't know what the resolution is for the VA11A but the VA12A is clearly better for me.

http://www.x10.com/promotions/va12a_ed_hires_1112.html

Thanks for the informative link! #:)

   >!
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

Jsnlong

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 17
  • Posts: 351
    • XKAR
Re: new high resolution va12a?
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2008, 10:00:46 AM »

Wow sounds like they improved something and not just gave something a new name!! and they even gave it a new part number.  #:)


Someone in that little porn like website  rofl is listening
Logged
People are afraid of robots taking their jobs......The same jobs they complain all day about doing!!

Join the chat at http://www.bdshost.com/ac/

Coach of XKAR
Xenia Kids And Robots
www.xkar.org

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6835
Re: new high resolution va12a?
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2008, 03:39:21 PM »

Someone in that little porn like website 

I would have never called X10 Web Site "porn like".... THANK YOU!
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

Jsnlong

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 17
  • Posts: 351
    • XKAR
Re: new high resolution va12a?
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2008, 04:03:17 PM »

rofl

Sorry Dave for the "porn like" remark but the half naked women and all the pop ads just made me think of porn sites but not like I have seen any to compare!!  :'
Logged
People are afraid of robots taking their jobs......The same jobs they complain all day about doing!!

Join the chat at http://www.bdshost.com/ac/

Coach of XKAR
Xenia Kids And Robots
www.xkar.org

tom j

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 16
  • Posts: 1270
Re: new high resolution va12a?
« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2008, 12:57:43 AM »

...Anyone using the VA11A and then updating to the VA12A?...
Yes and I'm very pleased with the improved resolution of the VA12A.
The ad below says the VA12A is "new and improved 720 x 480 resolution". I don't know what the resolution is for the VA11A but the VA12A is clearly better for me.

http://www.x10.com/promotions/va12a_ed_hires_1112.html

Say how much did you pay I think they are asking 50 bucks just for video capture alone kind of steep, think it's actually worth it? Sure glad they posted this took the words..... well right out of my mouth.  :)%  #:)

Tom j.
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: new high resolution va12a?
« Reply #10 on: November 15, 2008, 07:44:37 AM »

For only $79.99, you get the NEW High-Res USB Video Adaptor, the state-of-the-art Vanguard Internet Control Software and the USB cord to hook your camera (sold separately) up to your home PC AND a Motion-Activated PC Recording Kit! Oh, and we're even including a dedicated Video Receiver!


Direct from http://www.x10.com/promotions/va12a_ed_hires_1112.html
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

tom j

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 16
  • Posts: 1270
Re: new high resolution va12a?
« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2008, 11:01:46 PM »

rofl

Sorry Dave for the "porn like" remark but the half naked women and all the pop ads just made me think of porn sites but not like I have seen any to compare!!  :'

You know he has a point if you really look at some of those adds they are pretty racy, I know they say you can sell more with sex but maybe x10 needs to turn down the volume a little.   ;D

Tom j.
Logged

tom j

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 16
  • Posts: 1270
Re: new high resolution va12a?
« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2008, 11:17:25 PM »

For only $79.99, you get the NEW High-Res USB Video Adaptor, the state-of-the-art Vanguard Internet Control Software and the USB cord to hook your camera (sold separately) up to your home PC AND a Motion-Activated PC Recording Kit! Oh, and we're even including a dedicated Video Receiver!


Direct from http://www.x10.com/promotions/va12a_ed_hires_1112.html

Hi Dan say do you have one? I heard there were problems with the Vanguard software? heard a lot of folks were unable to get it to work properly. Thanks

Tom j.
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: new high resolution va12a?
« Reply #13 on: November 15, 2008, 11:59:45 PM »

Nope.  My X10 system is "plain vanalla".  No use for either the VA11A or the VA12A as don't have or need cameras.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

DB

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 17
Re: new high resolution va12a?
« Reply #14 on: November 16, 2008, 02:27:04 PM »

I was wondering why they sell the new va12a with the vanguard software. Will it work with AHP software with it's new higher resolution?  They don't say. What about vista and which versions. Haven't been able to do any updates (still on V2.04) on vista 64 bit system because I get an error saying no va11a attached, it says there are updates available and when pressed AHP shuts down. I would be interested in purchasing their new package but I think these compounding issues will make it very difficult to make it work. Buy it and try it hasn't worked well for me in the past (vista) Once again it seems X10 is going to defer to this forum's members for answers.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.