Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Single Electrical Socket Setup Question  (Read 9382 times)

todesengel

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Single Electrical Socket Setup Question
« on: November 25, 2008, 12:48:58 AM »

greetings, currently I have an alarm program setup to control music volume and wake me up on time as well as a few other things, I would like to control a light to simulate morning as well. since all I am trying to do is control a single electrical socket I was looking at the CM11A which seemed inexpensive and able to hook up to a PC via the serial port.

My question is this -- there is a socket on the CM11A , is this an X10 socket? can I control it? or do I need an AM466 as well? I have no reason to need to dim the light.
Logged

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 106
  • Posts: 2058
    • XTB Home Page
Re: Single Electrical Socket Setup Question
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2008, 09:01:52 AM »

The AC socket on the CM11A is just a power feed-through.  Only the TM751 and RR501 transceivers contain a switched appliance socket.

Jeff
« Last Edit: November 25, 2008, 04:25:53 PM by JeffVolp »
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

todesengel

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: Single Electrical Socket Setup Question
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2008, 04:27:22 PM »

Neither of those appear to connect to a PC and seem stricktly RF which doesn't seem like it would solve my problem, I'll pick up the 466 as well. Thank you for your help
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.