Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: How to use response codes from PR511 Motion Detector?  (Read 4696 times)

Domino

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
How to use response codes from PR511 Motion Detector?
« on: December 04, 2008, 12:39:39 AM »

Despite my searching and following all kinds of links, I haven't yet grasped the exact nature of how to use the signals generated by this device.

I have 3 of them, and they are the 'engine' of my security system, and just about everything will flow from these sensors, so I really need to get a grasp on how they work! I am a noob to AHP, and am in the process of installing the hardware (PR511s, socketrockets, powerhorns, with other stuff later), and testing simple things first.

My first disappointment was a simple way to invoke "If it's night time, turn on SocketRocket C2", for example. It seems I have to set up a dummy device to use as a trigger, then set up the conditions, then keep checking the dummy or use flags, etc...seems like a lot of extra BULK in there to do a very simple task! Am I missing something fundamental here!?

Ok, on to my more specific questions. Please forgive the detail, but I want to make sure I get things right, hopefully the first time! So here it is:

PR511 set to B1

When motion detector sensor is triggered (Floods turned ON), the log reads:

Receive B5
Receive B4
Receive B3
Receive B2
Receive B On

When motion detector is turned off (Floods turned OFF) by delay setting in the PR511, the log reads:

Receive B5
Receive B4
Receive B3
Receive B2
Receive B Off

When the PR511 is turned ON with the software module "Switch" (Floods turned ON), the log reads:

Transmit B1
Transmit B On

and, again, when turned OFF, the log reads:

Transmit B1
Transmit B Off

My questions are: