Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: VANGARD ERROR _Run a DLL as an App has encountered a problem and needs to close  (Read 26677 times)

chatvmax

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 8

Im using the Vangard software [ but the exact same thing happens in the senteniall software also ]
Im using the 4 camera and 4 motion sensors to a pc setup for home survalence only ,,,AND:
Almost evert time I try to go to the history tab,, then pick a picture i want to see larger and hit the little camera button in the top left courner I get the following error..!!

Run a DLL as an App has encountered a problem and needs to close.

Its says its the Rundll.exe...?

ANY help with this is appreciated,,
Ive tried to reload the app, upgrade the pc... u name it....



 
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 271
  • Posts: 10083
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum

Have you cleaned and repaired your Windows registry?  ???
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

chatvmax

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 8

Have you cleaned and repaired your Windows registry?  ???

No,, can you give me a idea how to accomplish this... Ill goive it a try for sure...
Thanks For the help !!
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 271
  • Posts: 10083
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum

It is best to get a Program to do this as messing with the registry can be confusing and screw up windows if one isn't careful!
there are several free ones on the net so finding one you like can be difficult!
One I use now is AMLSoft
By no means is it the best but it has yet to fail me, so feel free to try others!
>!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

chatvmax

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 8

i downloaded it,, THANKS for the tip,,, Ill run it..
Logged

Catfish

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3

HEEELLLPPPP!!!!!
Event Type:   Error
Event Source:   Application Hang
Event Category:   None
Event ID:   1001
Date:      12/7/2008
Time:      3:45:45 PM
User:      N/A
Computer:   YOUR-C198C85987
Description:
Fault bucket 03356175.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
Data:
0000: 42 75 63 6b 65 74 3a 20   Bucket:
0008: 30 33 33 35 36 31 37 35   03356175
0010: 0d 0a                     ..     
Event Type:   Error
Event Source:   Application Hang
Event Category:   (101)
Event ID:   1002
Date:      12/7/2008
Time:      3:45:08 PM
User:      N/A
Computer:   YOUR-C198C85987
Description:
Hanging application rundll32.exe, version 4.90.0.3000, hang module hungapp, version 0.0.0.0, hang address 0x00000000.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
Data:
0000: 41 70 70 6c 69 63 61 74   Applicat
0008: 69 6f 6e 20 48 61 6e 67   ion Hang
0010: 20 20 72 75 6e 64 6c 6c     rundll
0018: 33 32 2e 65 78 65 20 34   32.exe 4
0020: 2e 39 30 2e 30 2e 33 30   .90.0.30
0028: 30 30 20 69 6e 20 68 75   00 in hu
0030: 6e 67 61 70 70 20 30 2e   ngapp 0.
0038: 30 2e 30 2e 30 20 61 74   0.0.0 at
0040: 20 6f 66 66 73 65 74 20    offset
0048: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30   00000000
Event Type:   Error
Event Source:   Media Center Receiver
Event Category:   None
Event ID:   4
Date:      12/7/2008
Time:      3:32:32 PM
User:      N/A
Computer:   YOUR-C198C85987
Description:
TV tuner malfunction. (0x80040265) X10 TvTuner

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
Logged

Catfish

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3

 :' Problem fixed!!!!! Go to C:\ My imiges and rename the folder to what ever you want. Start vanguard
Logged

billf8004

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 6

Same problem.  It seems to happen when recording is stopped.  I get the video, but vanguard crashed after that:

AppName: rundll32.exe    AppVer: 4.90.0.3000    ModName: xvidns.dll
ModVer: 3.0.0.236    Offset: 00005200


I changed video to still (in the motion setup) and it works fine.  Seems like a bug in the xvidns.dll module...or a version mismatch or something...

Here's something interesting....I found a "rundll32.dll in \program files\common files\x10\common that was dated 2001.  I moved it and copied over the one from \windows\system32, but same error....

AppName: rundll32.exe    AppVer: 5.1.2600.5512    ModName: xvidns.dll
ModVer: 3.0.0.236    Offset: 00005146
« Last Edit: December 19, 2008, 01:59:23 PM by billf8004 »
Logged

shmuel

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1

I also have experienced same error, at end of video recording. The software is totally useless to me because of this. I have installed it on both XP SP3 & Vista Home Premium, SP1.
I was just thinking: On each of these machines, I have some kind of support for web cam, which includes video recording. I wonder if that's was messing this thing up. On my vista laptop, I have a builtin webcam, with Dell software to support it. ON the xp desktop, there's a Creative webcam, with their software.

Perhaps others with this problem may find that they have webcam software.

Maybe I can uninstall the creative software & see if it fixes. it.
Logged

chatvmax

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 8

i loaded and updated a system JUST for this ,, it is a xp pro system with ALL updates from MS...
same issue...  :-))) useless $$ i have just spent  ... 
Logged

jsnone1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 68

I have followed these instructions sent my X10 rep.....still no luck...Please help!!!!



1. Delete the folder at C:\Program Files\Vanguard. Disconnect your VA11A Video Capture Adapter.

2. Reboot the computer.

3. Go to My computer | C: | Program files | Common files.

4. Delete the ‘X10’ folder. If you receive a message that states you cannot delete this folder, go to step 5. If you can delete it, go to step 9.

5. Press the Crtl, Alt, and Del buttons on your keyboard at the same time to bring up Task Manager.

6. Click on Processes. End process for x10net.exe.

7. Delete the ‘X10’ folder in the ‘Common Files’ folder.

8. If this does not work, reboot the computer and repeatedly press F8 while it loads to bring up the Safe Mode menu. Boot into Safe Mode and delete the ‘X10’ folder in the ‘Common Files’ folder.

9. Reboot the computer.

10. Install the Vanguard software and plug in the VA11A when prompted.

11. Reboot the computer again.

12. Rename the C:\My Images folder to C:\My Old Images (or just delete it.)

13. Open Vanguard, go into Options-Video Rec, select Record in Standard AVI format, and hit OK.

The Vanguard software should now operate correctly. If you have any more questions, please reply to this email. Thanks for choosing X10!

Logged

rpwhitmore

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1

I think I have found a way to keep Vanguard running after the video stop recording. I have Windows Vista Basic and what I have done seems to let Vanguard run and I do not get the "Windows Host Process (Rundll32) has stopped working.
What I did:
1. Open your computer and expand your C drive
2. Expand Program files
3. Expand Common Files
4. Expand X10
5. Click on Common
6. Right click on rundll32.exe
7. Left click properties
8. Click Compatibility Tab
9. Put a check mark in the box for Disable display scaling on high DPI settings
10. Click OK
11. Start you Vanguard program
12. Sometimes my does not open fully, the left part of the window is gone, just minimize the window and open it up again.
13. Click the little film strip and record some video.
14. Click it again and you should not get the error.
15. It you still have problems go back to the properties and try some differently Compatibility modes.

You might get the error when you close Vanguard, but who cares, you are recording video you need.

You might also change your color resolution from 32 Bit to 16 Bit
Maybe also try changing your screen resolution to something lower.
Logged

cyclonex10

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 13

I was getting the same error "Run a DLL as an App has encountered a problem...."

I followed the suggestion by Catfish

Go to C:\ My Images
renamed that folder to what ever you want.
Start vanguard. It created a new My Images folder. I deleted the renamed one later.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.