Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Q. about IR32A/SRU8010 "sleep/wake-up" behavior  (Read 7908 times)

em745

• Helpful Post Rating: 1
Q. about IR32A/SRU8010 "sleep/wake-up" behavior
« on: September 01, 2010, 08:45:11 AM »

Hi all, newbie here.

I have a question regarding the IconRemote (IR32A, a.k.a. Philips SUR8010).

A few weeks ago I bought a "new" Philips SUR8010 off eBay... And before you ask, yes, I WAS seduced by the color LCD and the cute little channel icons. The thing was about 40 bucks shipped.

Well, let me just say that the honeymoon period, while intense, was very brief. I liked most everything about this remote, especially the ultra-quick wizard-driven device setup, and the programmable soft buttons with custom labeling.

There was just one thing that kept this remote from being a winner in my book (and it's a doozie): When the LCD screen went to sleep, the whole damn remote went with it. That is, when the screen was off, the remote was inactive. It required a keypress (ANY key) to first wake it up (and the LCD) and THEN once awake it would transmit, via subsequent keypresses.