Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Neighbours X10 commands..  (Read 6294 times)

gringler

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 27
Neighbours X10 commands..
« on: January 25, 2009, 04:23:50 PM »

Hi All,

As we all know, X10 commands generated in your neighbour's system could trigger your modules/switches, etc.

Is there a way to "detect" such "alien" commands with a PC ?

I'll give a simple example : let's say that a universal module is used to open a garage door... and we set this to respond to G1.

If your neighbour also uses G1 for something (like turning on a light), when he uses the G1 command, it will turn on his light AND (maybe) open your garage door as well...

So, is there a way to "detect" with a PC when a "alien" (your neighbour's) G1 command activates your system ? (other than come back home and see the garage door wide open...  ;D  )

Thanks !
Logged

Jsnlong

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 17
  • Posts: 351
    • XKAR
Re: Neighbours X10 commands..
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2009, 04:32:41 PM »

Best thing would be to install a blocking filter on your electrical panel.

Something like this
http://www.x10.com/pro/automation/pzz01.htm
Logged
People are afraid of robots taking their jobs......The same jobs they complain all day about doing!!

Join the chat at http://www.bdshost.com/ac/

Coach of XKAR
Xenia Kids And Robots
www.xkar.org

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Neighbours X10 commands..
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2009, 04:43:42 PM »

Welcome to the forum!
You have neighbors that use X10? I've never had anyone near me that uses X10.  ;)

That said, you can't detect "alien" commands as you put it. The only way to eliminate them would be some sort of whole house filter and that would only block power line signals.
If you do have a neighbor using X10 your best bet would be to make friends and divide up the HCs. Keep in mind unless you live in an appartment, them odds of a signal reaching you are very slim unless they live right next to you.

Garage doors come with remotes that provide 1,000,000s of possible codes for security many even have rotating codes. Keep in mind if you use an X10 module to open your garage you have reduced that security to only 256 possible codes. I would never allow X10 to open my garage. I do, however, allow X10 to close my garage automatically.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7025
Re: Neighbours X10 commands..
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2009, 07:29:07 PM »

Garage doors come with remotes that provide 1,000,000s of possible codes for security many even have rotating codes. Keep in mind if you use an X10 module to open your garage you have reduced that security to only 256 possible codes. I would never allow X10 to open my garage. I do, however, allow X10 to close my garage automatically.

steven r is so correct. If your home came with a garage door opener... but no remotes.. simply replace the remotes. Modern openers allow you to remove previous remotes so only you newly purchased ones will work. A little searching online should give you all the info needed.

My home came with very dated remotes... I replaced the entire RF module unit and new remotes in minutes.. and for not much money.
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

bitman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 9
  • Posts: 597
Re: Neighbours X10 commands..
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2009, 10:45:07 PM »

AH and AH Pro both have a "Find other computers" menu under I think tools.

In a nutshell it's a table of codes your transceiver has seen. It can be used as a diagnostic tool to see what other House codes lurk around.
About all you can do is avoid their codes. Or negotiate over the back fence.

I think.

I thankfully have never had the problem.

Logged
Long live X10! - Because I just like it is all.....

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Neighbours X10 commands..
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2009, 11:25:41 PM »

AH and AH Pro both have a "Find other computers"...
When I was younger and bouncing from one apartment to another every few years, I'd do several alternating "All Lights ON" followed by an "All Units Off" for each HC, while keeping an eye out for any flashing lights next door. Then I'd clear my detected items and do a "Find other computers". Never found anyone using X10 around me.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

gringler

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 27
Re: Neighbours X10 commands..
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2009, 09:12:39 AM »

So that means that I'll need to talk to my neigbour more often, and negotiate with him, as he also uses X10  :)
Thanks you all for your thoughts !
Logged

Jsnlong

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 17
  • Posts: 351
    • XKAR
Re: Neighbours X10 commands..
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2009, 09:15:32 AM »

Think its time for a  >! and draw house codes out of a hat.  rofl

Hope your on good terms with them and Good luck
Logged
People are afraid of robots taking their jobs......The same jobs they complain all day about doing!!

Join the chat at http://www.bdshost.com/ac/

Coach of XKAR
Xenia Kids And Robots
www.xkar.org

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Neighbours X10 commands..
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2009, 12:19:00 PM »

So that means that I'll need to talk to my neigbour more often, and negotiate with him, as he also uses X10...
If you get on good terms with him, designate a shared HC or two. You could then have the two houses "talk" to each other particularly with macros. Not just becuase you can do it but think of the possibilities in an emergency if you could trigger an alert at your neighbors!

As an interesting side note, at least to me anyway, is what I did in one apartment I lived in once. I hung some Christmas lights around my door and plugged it in with an appliance module to the apartment's electrical outlet outside. I had full control of my lights while "borrowing" their electricity.
« Last Edit: January 26, 2009, 12:25:37 PM by steven r »
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.