Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: X10 touch screen picture frame  (Read 4122 times)

Jsnlong

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 17
  • Posts: 351
    • XKAR
X10 touch screen picture frame
« on: January 22, 2009, 06:52:50 PM »

I seen this today and was wondering anyone one have one and do they sell the in the states. Seems to me that are friends over the pond has a few X10 stuff that is cooler then ours!!!

X10 Touch screen picture frame.
http://www.letsautomate.com/12700.cfm?

You tube video of it working
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1Tz7-Pv0iU
« Last Edit: January 22, 2009, 07:15:34 PM by Jsnlong »
Logged
People are afraid of robots taking their jobs......The same jobs they complain all day about doing!!

Join the chat at http://www.bdshost.com/ac/

Coach of XKAR
Xenia Kids And Robots
www.xkar.org

Alan V

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 8
  • Posts: 171
Re: X10 touch screen picture frame
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2009, 07:48:24 PM »

They would need to offer a model that uses 310 MHz for the US, instead of 433.92 MHz which I think is used in most of Europe.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6840
Re: X10 touch screen picture frame
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2009, 08:37:35 PM »

..... Seems to me that are friends over the pond has a few X10 stuff that is cooler then ours!!!

Man... talk about the grass being greener on the other side. Interesting picture frame. Looks like merely a series of touch sensitive areas... or programable areas. One more really cool thing... I can't have.
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

jhp7894

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Re: X10 touch screen picture frame
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2009, 11:13:52 AM »

$266!?!?! Cool idea, but definitely not worth that much... Since the picture is one you slide in yourself, it will only control a few devices... You can now get an HP Compaq Netbook/Tablet pc for $350 which would then give you unlimited options... you could even have it display the weather and news...
Logged

Jsnlong

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 17
  • Posts: 351
    • XKAR
Re: X10 touch screen picture frame
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2009, 09:19:44 PM »

Yea It is pricey but the thing that makes it cool is that its wireless. So you don't have to have a computer or any wires to it. and it runs off batteries

Its really like a 8 x 10 remote  rofl but again the price is high !!!!!!!!!!!
Logged
People are afraid of robots taking their jobs......The same jobs they complain all day about doing!!

Join the chat at http://www.bdshost.com/ac/

Coach of XKAR
Xenia Kids And Robots
www.xkar.org

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 93
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: X10 touch screen picture frame
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2009, 04:04:27 AM »

They would need to offer a model that uses 310 MHz for the US, instead of 433.92 MHz which I think is used in most of Europe.

The European model should work in the US if you get the international version V572AE 433.92MHz Transceiver (http://www.wgldesigns.com/v572.html)

Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: X10 touch screen picture frame
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2009, 08:33:52 AM »

Fascinating!!  However the cost is over 300 bucks, so that's not for most of us.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 93
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: X10 touch screen picture frame
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2009, 09:06:41 AM »

I checked with WGL to make sure my suggestion about using the 433.92MHz V572AE transceiver with the touch screen is correct, and in fact the V572AE is fully compatible with the PSC05 powerline interface used with the 310MHz V572A in the USA.  (That's how WGL tests the V572AE.)

WGL further responded that orders for the 433.92MHz V572AE with a USA shipping address would include a PSC05 and a 120V power supply at no additional charge.

So those of you with deep pockets can now show off with your very own X10 touch screen.   :)

Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

Alan V

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 8
  • Posts: 171
Re: X10 touch screen picture frame
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2009, 12:25:22 PM »

Sounds like a good solution. :-X  I gave you a helpful for that one.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.