Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: All my X-10 stuff quit working  (Read 6293 times)

pitzerwm

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
All my X-10 stuff quit working
« on: January 27, 2009, 04:29:42 AM »

I have had my X-10 stuff working for years with no issues. I use house codes A, B, & C. I control lights, arm/disarm alarm system, and the garage door/gate. A week or so ago, I left arming and returned, disarmed the alarm, an hour or so later started to leave and it wouldn't arm. After some checking realized that nothing worked. No new items or changes have been made. After some checking I found that if I disconnected the bridge (coil & cap) A-10 & A11 worked but nothing else.

Any ideas or suggestions, I don't have any test equip. I have the TM751 & RR 501s. Using HR12As and SS13As, I have lamp modules and wall switches. I can make the TM751 or RR501 "click" as unit 1, but no signal is transmitted to a module even when plugged into the same strip.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12664
Re: All my X-10 stuff quit working
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2009, 06:50:02 AM »

Though you have made on changes. Someting has changed and maybe starting to fail.
Try the isolation tests. Maybe starting on the phase that the bridge removed as some modules then started to work Try the security system without the RR501 connected. I had one get flaky after its power supply started to fail.
Logged

bitman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 9
  • Posts: 589
Re: All my X-10 stuff quit working
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2009, 10:22:27 PM »

One day what you have described happen to me. I unplugged everything then plugged in everything back in one device at a time testing as I went. I never figured out what went wrong but forum members here suggested perhaps a wayward tranciever. It has never happened since.

Logged
Long live X10! - Because I just like it is all.....

pitzerwm

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: All my X-10 stuff quit working
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2009, 03:44:13 AM »

Thanks for the help.  I did unplug the security system's wall wart, and nothing changed.  The X-10 stuff is built in to it.  You do nothing but program the system for the house and unit code that it needs for arm and disarm.  I guess unplugging everything through out the house will be the next step. 
Logged

speedbugy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 4
  • Posts: 48
Re: All my X-10 stuff quit working
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2009, 10:04:17 PM »

if nothingat all works seems to be a power problem. make sure you dont got it connected to a source such as a no-fault breaker in the bathroom or garage. the breaker may even be a power outlet such as to plug something into in the garage or bathroom.
Logged

pitzerwm

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: All my X-10 stuff quit working
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2009, 03:45:22 AM »

Well, today a wizard came over and we started killing breakers until we found which circuit was creating the problem.  Its an outside circuit with a number of motion lights on it, not X-10 lights, we ran out of daylight to find it probably tomorrow.  Thanks for the help.
Logged

pitzerwm

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: All my X-10 stuff quit working
« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2009, 07:27:27 PM »

To followup:  It turned out that one of my motion lights, (a non-x10) while still working as a motion light was putting crap on the circuit.  Replaced that and all went back to normal.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12664
Re: All my X-10 stuff quit working
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2009, 06:10:11 AM »

Thanks for the update.
I believe a wayword non X10 motion light has been a problem for at least one other user.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6840
Re: All my X-10 stuff quit working
« Reply #8 on: May 16, 2009, 10:09:09 AM »

Thanks for the followup pitzerwm.

Often when an X10 setup has a major problem... [out of the blue].. we ask what has changed. Of course a device failure isn't a change we can remember... it has to be tracked down as you did.

But with spring upon us its good to be reminded: that the lighting that sometimes accompanies the spring showers can alter an X10 setup in one bright flash. Last year I had a lighting strike in my backyard... that did more damage than I like to think about. Actually it was the gift that keeps on giving (or is that taking?) as it seems to me some devices that survived the lighting... have failed prematurely. Or a formerly "quite" device can become "noisy". 

It's just something to keep in mind. Damage done by a spring storm on a weeknight may not be noticed until the weekend.

« Last Edit: May 16, 2009, 03:45:45 PM by Dave_x10_L »
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12664
Re: All my X-10 stuff quit working
« Reply #9 on: May 16, 2009, 02:33:01 PM »

Yes a surge or lightning crippled device may slowly die and make all kinds of problems.
I had a phone with a partially damaged diodes in the ringing circuit. Evertime the phone was hung up it acted like I put the system on hold and it didn't have any Hold Button.  ???
Logged

bendixgomez

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: All my X-10 stuff quit working
« Reply #10 on: May 23, 2009, 11:19:32 AM »

Maybe something has changed and maybe it starting to fail because of that... maybe it could be better to look a technician to see it for your self...
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.