Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Lost timer program  (Read 9028 times)

john

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Lost timer program
« on: April 03, 2005, 07:17:40 PM »

Every few days I lose the program that turn
on the candles we have in our windows.  I
programed to come on and off at the same
time daily but every few days they don't
come on.  I can turn them on from the
remote  but that defeats the purpose of the
timer.  If I go into active home pro and
download  the timer then everything will be
alright  for a few days.  Any suggestions?
Logged

roger1818

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 1072
  • Roger H.
Re: Lost timer program
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2005, 12:15:08 AM »

Do you have any other timers?  Do they work
properly?

Since the CM15a uses the CPU to keep track
of the time, if it resets, the clock will
stop.  If the clock stops, all timed events
(both timers and time delays in macros)
stop working.  It is not known (or if it is
known X10 isn't saying) what is causing the
CPU to reset, but it seems to happen more
frequently for some people than others.
Some people who have diagnostic units claim
that this problem has gone away for them,
but it isn't clear if the problem is really
fixed or if it is a fluke.
Logged

carmine

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 18
Re: Lost timer program
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2005, 01:20:22 PM »

The cm15a has only 255 byte of data memory,
24 byte are allocated for USB buffers, the
so called Real Time Clock is done in
software. Any glitches ( power or firmware)
can cause a reset , considering the limited
memory available is probably a stack
overflow, any time the CPU resets Clock is
lost, timers and events relying on time
will not longer work.
I only had 2 smart macros triggered by
motion sensors and relying on flags and
time of the day, any time I triggered a
motion sensor during a dimming cycle I have
lost the clock.
I finally solved the problem, I have
purchased a PowerLinc 1132CU controller,
this device has a Hardware Real time Clock
with a Lithium battery back up(the clock
will keep working with power off for the
shelf life of the battery, at least 10
years).
Incidentally as soon as I requested a
refund, X10 stop replying to my emails.
There is an old say “You get what you pay
for”, the 1132CU is more expensive than the
cm15a, but my time is valuable, I rather
pay more for a reliable product.
AHP in the past few months has released 83
software upgrades, no amount of lemon aid
can fix the serious hardware short comings,
as a stand alone unit with smart macros a
Hardware battery back up clock is a MUST,
not a luxury.
Logged

JLFisher

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Lost timer program
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2009, 07:37:31 AM »

Thank you for the explanation of the CM15A shortcoming as it relates to timer programs.  My Macros work when run from the PC but the timers don't fire on their own.  I will consider the more reliable PLU unit and quit banging my head against the wall trying to figure out why my timers quit running.
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Lost timer program
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2009, 09:23:41 AM »

I presume you have AHP (Active Home Pro) and the CM15A.  What version of AHP?  What plug-ins do you have, if any?   
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.