Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: DS10A D/W Sensor Replacement  (Read 4010 times)

Kramer Chins

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 16
  • Posts: 262
    • Kramer Chins
DS10A D/W Sensor Replacement
« on: February 11, 2009, 05:44:46 AM »

How can I replace a faulty sensor with a new one and have the new register in the same zone as the old one? 

Or do I have to reinstall all the D/W Sensors again to get the "new" one in the zone I want it?

Currently Zone 8 was "Flashing" when I got up this morning, so it didn't report in lastnight. Replaced batteries and will see what happens when I get home.... But if I do have to replace it with a new one I want to know how I can do it (or if I can) and have it still be Zone 8....

 :' I have a feeling you're going to tell me I need to reinstall all D/W Sensors if I want the new one to be in a certain zone.....
Logged
Registered Members of MCBA... WWW.KRAMERCHINS.COM

Trying to learn X10 Day by Day...........

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7065
Re: DS10A D/W Sensor Replacement
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2009, 07:10:55 AM »

.... I have to reinstall all the D/W Sensors again to get the "new" one in the zone I want it.
................ I have a feeling you're going to tell me I need to reinstall all D/W Sensors if I want the new one to be in a certain zone.....

Yep
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

BVD

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 105
Re: DS10A D/W Sensor Replacement
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2009, 10:32:17 PM »

From the DS10A manual.

Replacing batteries
Open the battery compartment and replace the batteries with two
AA alkaline batteries. After replacing the batteries, the following
steps are necessary to determine that the Console still recognizes
the DS10A.
• Place the Console’s slide switch to RUN2.
• Press TEST on the DS10A. If the Console chimes, it recognizes
the DS10A and no further action is necessary.
If the Console did not chime:
Place the Console’s slide switch to INSTALL. Press TEST on the
DS10A. The Console beeps and logs in the DS10A to the next
available zone. To make sure the Console logs the DS10A back
into the same zone it was allocated to before you changed the
batteries, wait four hours after removing the old batteries before
reinstalling (until the appropriate zone indicator on the Console
starts flashing).

Looks like if you wait until the zone indicator starts flashing then put the batteries into the new DS10A and press the test  button it will end up in the correct Zone without redoing the whole thing.

Bob
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.