Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: Contractors help needed??  (Read 15042 times)

orca

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 25
Contractors help needed??
« on: March 08, 2009, 09:40:50 PM »

Hello;

I have a client that will need 40 switches total for fourescent lights on two floors, which includes
2 bathrooms each on 2 floors plus 2 4-way switches for stairwells and 1 5-way switch too.

I intend to use X10Pro XPS3-IW switches mainly because of the longer warranty without extra costs per switch.

Some place I just read about putting the CM15A on or next to the main power panel in the place makes
a lot of sense to me and there is a plug directly under that main power panel anyway.

I am not too sure whether I will need a 240V coupler/repeater since placing the CM15A at the panel may
obviate that.

Any other ideas or suggestions would be appreciated.
Logged

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 58
  • Posts: 1417
  • I want my BVC
    • This Automated House
Re: Contractors help needed??
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2009, 09:47:12 PM »

Check the ballasts on the florescent lights.  The newer electronic ones eat x10 signals for breakfast.
(you didn't mean CFL's, did you?)
Logged
Invented in 1975?  Why doesn't everyone have it?

orca

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 25
Re: Contractors help needed??
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2009, 09:58:27 PM »

No CFL's just the regular 2 foot (bathrooms) and 8 foot tubes just about every
other place in the building.

The building is about 5 years old and I was surprised they did not install energy
saving devices during the build out.

Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 132
  • Posts: 5694
Re: Contractors help needed??
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2009, 12:19:07 PM »


I am not too sure whether I will need a 240V coupler/repeater since placing the CM15A at the panel may
obviate that.

Any other ideas or suggestions would be appreciated.


Putting CM15A at the panel doesn't eliminate coupling issues, since the CM15A can only plug in to one phase. I think you will need a high quality coupler/repeater.

Heed Knightriders suggestion of checking the ballasts. The soild state ballasts are noisy. Also building isn't three phase power is it? If so ACT has three phase coupler repeater.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.