Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5

Author Topic: PC Companion - What can it do for you?  (Read 87983 times)

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: PC Companion - What can it do for you?
« Reply #45 on: March 17, 2010, 09:07:33 PM »

 rofl

 >!
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

hawk1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 21
  • Posts: 625
Re: PC Companion - What can it do for you?
« Reply #46 on: March 18, 2010, 11:26:47 AM »

Let's not forget "How well you can handle a screwdriver!"    rofl
Logged
koopr@sstelco.com, I don't know what I'm doin but I'm havin fun doin it!

nybuck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 17
  • Posts: 405
Re: PC Companion - What can it do for you?
« Reply #47 on: March 18, 2010, 03:11:13 PM »

Let's not forget "How well you can handle a screwdriver!"    rofl
How would I fit that into my signature....  "Engineering"?  "Mechanical skill"?

Hmmm...
Logged
>!

streetp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 11
Re: PC Companion - What can it do for you?
« Reply #48 on: April 09, 2010, 08:26:25 AM »

I was looking for a floor plan software. I wanted to be able to look at the computer and see what was left on or open also I wanted it easy enough for my wife and kids to use.

This is what first got me interested - and the fact that I have computers everywhere (it's my profession). I've downloaded the trial version of PCC, drawn a basic MyHouse.jpg floorplan and added just 1 (one) lamp to see how it works, clicking on the lamp turns it on and off great, however, I must be a dummy as I can't move the lamp icon from the top left corner of my floor plan to the actual room it's located in......... what am I doing wrong?

I am in the process of drawing the basement and top floor plans, then as I can afford (must obey "her who must be obeyed" with the budget) I'm going to be adding x10 everywhere I can  8)
Logged

streetp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 11
Re: PC Companion - What can it do for you?
« Reply #49 on: April 16, 2010, 09:28:01 AM »

however, I must be a dummy as I can't move the lamp icon from the top left corner of my floor plan to the actual room it's located in......... what am I doing wrong?

Ok, I was being a dummy, It's not easy to drag the icons to the correct places but it's very easy to hack the xml file that has the coordinates in for each icon  -:)

Now I can go ahead and draw the remainder of the house and start using this as it should be used.

Thank you for such a wonderful addition to the X10 world  #:)
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9406
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: PC Companion - What can it do for you?
« Reply #50 on: May 11, 2010, 11:38:09 AM »

I get asked if PC Companion can do this a lot. The fact is a SMS is a simple email message.
And PC Companion can send an email alert.
The requirement is that your carrier provides an SMS gateway.That is an email address to which you may send an email and have it converted to an SMS message.
Most large carriers offer this service to their subscribers, but if yours does not, you may try the Teleflip service or one like it.
While trying to find the gateway for another user I decided to put together a list which maybe helpful to others.
this is by no means a complete list simply what I've discovered via Searching the net.
If your carrier isn't on the list and you know the email address used for the SMS please post it so others may benefit from this.

  • ALLTEL -  (Your 10digit Phone#)@message.alltel.com
  • AT&T -  (Your 10digit Phone#)@txt.att.net
  • Bell -  (Your 10digit Phone#)@text.bell.ca
  • BoostMobile -  (Your 10digit Phone#)@myboostmobile.com
  • Cingular -  (Your 10digit Phone#)@mobile.mycingular.com
  • Metrocall -  (Your 10digit Phone#)@page.metrocall.com
  • Metro PCS -  (Your 10digit Phone#)@mymetropcs.com
  • MTS Allstream -  (Your 10digit Phone#)@text.mtsmobility.com
  • Nextel -  (Your 10digit Phone#)@messaging.netel.com
  • Rogers Wireless -  (Your 10digit Phone#)@pcs.rogers.com
  • SprintPCS -  (Your 10digit Phone#)@messaging.sprintpcs.com
  • T-mobile -  (Your 10digit Phone#)@tmomail.net
  • T-Mobile UK -  (Your 10digit Phone#)@t-mobile.uk.net
  • Teleflip -  (Your 10digit Phone#)@teleflip.com
  • Telus Mobility -  (Your 10digit Phone#)@msg.telus.com
  • Verizon -  (Your 10digit Phone#)@vtext.com
  • Virgin Mobile -  (Your 10digit Phone#)@vmobl.com
  • Vodafone Italy -  (Your 10digit Phone#)@sms.voafone.it

Note: You don't need to use PC Companion to send the SMS as AHP will do this as well (if you have the plug-in that will enable sending email alerts).
 >!
« Last Edit: May 11, 2010, 11:39:45 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9406
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: PC Companion - What can it do for you?
« Reply #51 on: January 08, 2011, 11:58:39 AM »

Voice recognition? Yes! :)%
Actually it has had it for a few years! ::) :'
I Just didn't know it! rofl
If you have Vista or greater OS you have this feature!
Want to know more?
This may be a good reason to update your OS! ::) :'
 >!
« Last Edit: February 04, 2011, 05:22:51 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

lviper

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 10
  • Posts: 294
Re: PC Companion - What can it do for you?
« Reply #52 on: January 20, 2011, 11:23:05 AM »

So I decided to have a look at PC Companion. It loaded just fine but I have one problem that may not be a PCC problem. The computer running AHP and will run PCC is accessed via VNC. And I cannot see the PCC program through VNC. If I hookup a monitor to the PC I can see PCC sitting there in the middle of the screen but it just isn't there through VNC. I don't know what language PCC is written in or how it displays on the screen, but it will not show up when accessing the computer remotely through VNC.

I don't know if anyone else has tried this and it's working for them which is what I'm really asking. Otherwise I will have to make the computer more accessible with a keyboard, mouse and monitor hooked up full time. Right now the computer is hidden on a shelf in a central location so the cm15a has the best reception.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9406
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: PC Companion - What can it do for you?
« Reply #53 on: January 20, 2011, 11:48:26 AM »

PCC is written in VB but that is strange! ::) :'
I've never tested with out a monitor,mouse and keyboard hooked up but will look into it once I get back to my development machine.
I know it was displaying for me remotely but I had everything connected.
What OS are you running?
How are you opening PCC?
Before VNC is loaded or with VNC?
Are you running the latest build of PCC?
It may have something to do with the home network settings of PCC is that option enabled?
If it is set to use the same port as VNC that maybe the issue.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

lviper

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 10
  • Posts: 294
Re: PC Companion - What can it do for you?
« Reply #54 on: January 20, 2011, 04:28:16 PM »

Even if the remote computer has a keyboard, mouse and monitor hooked up, when I remote in using VNC I just do not see PCC. I have the icon in the system tray, but when I open the console I see it on the computer, can use it, click on it and everything. Just do not see it through VNC. Strange.

I'm using the latest version right off your site.

The PC running AHP and PCC:
Windows XP Pro SP3
Ultra VNC 1.0.8.2 (might be the problem)
VNC was running prior to installing PCC
VNC using standard port, 5900

The PC I'm connecting from is Vista running the same version VNC. I can connect to the remote PC, open AHP and do what ever I need. I downloaded PCC, installed and started it from the icon on the desktop. When I first start it I get the message about no setting, do I want to see the manual. If I say yes, I see the manual both remotely and locally. But the console can only be seen locally. Also, the icon in the system tray can be seen both remotely and locally, but when I click on the icon to open the menu I can only see the menu locally.

I know the 1.0.8.2 version of Ultra VNC has many issues. When I get home I will try installing an older version and see what happens.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9406
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: PC Companion - What can it do for you?
« Reply #55 on: January 20, 2011, 05:06:27 PM »

Humm I must admit I haven't tested PCC with Ultra VNC.
When I coded and tested I used RealVNC the free version is 4.1.3
The link is in PCC startup options.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

lviper

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 10
  • Posts: 294
Re: PC Companion - What can it do for you?
« Reply #56 on: January 20, 2011, 07:08:49 PM »

I removed version 1.0.8.2 and installed an older version I had, 1.0.2 and it is working now. That v1.0.8.2 is very troublesome. Sorry for the false problem report.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9406
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: PC Companion - What can it do for you?
« Reply #57 on: January 20, 2011, 07:17:34 PM »

hey not a problem!
I learned something! rofl
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

lviper

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 10
  • Posts: 294
Re: PC Companion - What can it do for you?
« Reply #58 on: January 20, 2011, 08:12:25 PM »

Now I just need to learn what it can do and as soon as I have some spare money I'll send you some. It's looks very interesting.

My wife is really going to call me a geek when I get it going. rofl
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9406
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: PC Companion - What can it do for you?
« Reply #59 on: January 21, 2011, 07:47:54 AM »

 rofl
Now I just need to learn what it can do.....
Also you may find some ideas @ the other forum
I'm sure you'll find something it can do that even I didn't realize it could do! ;)

 >!
« Last Edit: April 26, 2011, 04:41:50 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.