Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Many Questions for total Newbie  (Read 1781 times)

rolyasm

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Many Questions for total Newbie
« on: March 22, 2009, 02:27:06 PM »

Hi All.  Brand new to this.  I was really contemplating using a Lutron-type system for my Home theater but am now considering X10.  Some questions.  1) How is the quality of X10 compared to other general brands?  2) Can I use a Logitech Harmony or Univerasal type remote to control X10? 3) What would you say the 2 biggest pro's and con's are for X10? (apart from cost)  4) How is the customer service ? 5)The site seems a little difficult to find what I need.  For my home theater I really only need 3 dimmers.  The rest of my system will be controlled by a RF/IR combination.  Is there a part number I can search for?
Thanks for the assistance. 
Roly

dave w

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 139
Re: Many Questions for total Newbie
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2009, 06:17:32 PM »

#1. and #3. What do you mean by "other brands"? Other brands that still use X10 PLC protocol? (X10, Smarthome, PCS,etc).  X10 is the least expensive remote control/automation equipment available. The actual quality of the hardware itself is not bad, but you get what you pay for. "Out of box" quality" is good. "System quality" is debatable for the following reasons

The X10 protocol is 30 years old and is showing age. It is easily thwarted by electrical noise in your home generated by switching powersupplies (AKA "power bricks", cell phone chargers, iPod chargers, etc) but this can be overcome. It needs help passing across both electrical phases present in your home, this also can be overcome. Certain UPS systems and surge protectors "suck the signal", and this also can be overcome.

You begin by stating you are considering a Lutron System or an X10 system. Gee whiz, this is like saying "I'm thinking about a Lexus or a KIA...which should I get?"