Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Question about AHP and cameras  (Read 3845 times)

kevman

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Question about AHP and cameras
« on: March 23, 2009, 09:36:21 PM »

Hello to all.

I have been using x-10 for security (ds7000) for about two years now successfully and have recently (2 months) have been using AHP with on-alert semi successfully with the extensive knowledge found on this forum.  >!

My system is as follows:

1-ps561
1-powerhorn
2-lamp modules
10-ds10
2-ms10
1-cm15(no range issues(anymore) thanks to posts read here "no mods")
AHP with all the downloads

My question is I would like to add some cameras and would like a little info:

1. Can AHP handle multiple WIRED cameras?
2. If 1 is no how secure are the wireless cameras?(could you scan for the signal)
3. How many cameras can AHP record at the same time?

I talked to a sales person and wasn't real comfortable with the answers I was getting and I know here I can get answers from people that actually use what they are talking about.

Any help would be appreciated and once again thank you to all who reply.

Puck

• Advanced Member
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
Re: Question about AHP and cameras
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2009, 09:51:09 PM »

Welcome to the forum kevman.

AHP can use wired cameras. AHP really doesn't know or care about the difference between the wireless & wired. It controls both with PLC signals. If you are using the VA11A or VA12A for video input, you just need to join all cameras together at this input; Y-Adapters work well.

When using X10 hardware & software, only one camera at a time can (should) be on and you only record that one active camera. To do multiple viewing and recording you would require different equipment.

kevman

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2009, 10:04:55 PM »

Thanks Puck :angel:,