Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: MS12A Modification to Thermostat  (Read 38395 times)

rlgdtime

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: MS12A Modification to Thermostat
« Reply #15 on: March 15, 2011, 12:52:41 PM »

Can this setup be used with a Honeywell Chronotherm IV Thermostat, connected to a 4 wire 24V system running an all electric A/C & Heat Pump?  The Thermostat uses 3 AA batteries and is similar to this one http://customer.honeywell.com/techlit/pdf/69-0000s/69-1536.pdf, with the same wall plate, but manual switch for heat/cool/off and fan on/auto.
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5971
Re: MS12A Modification to Thermostat
« Reply #16 on: March 15, 2011, 03:47:09 PM »

Probably. All the MS12A needs after the mod, is a contact closure from the thermostat. Do you know if the thermostat uses relays for the outputs to the heatpump/air handler? Relays will usually appear to be small metal or plastic cans on the PC board.  If you can't tell, post a picture of the componet side of the pc board.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

rlgdtime

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: MS12A Modification to Thermostat
« Reply #17 on: March 15, 2011, 07:48:36 PM »

Not sure about relays.  Or which wires to hook up to moded MS12A.  Also, do I need independent power source for MS12A, because thermostat uses 3 AA batteries (4.5V)? Or,  I can always buy a thermostat that uses 2 batteries (3V).  I have photos, but can't seem to load them.  I have posted them here:  http://img98.imageshack.us/g/img00037201103150236.jpg/.  Thanks, in advance.
Logged

southtoms

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: MS12A Modification to Thermostat
« Reply #18 on: April 30, 2011, 05:53:30 PM »

Anyone know how to do this mod with a MS14A
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5971
Re: MS12A Modification to Thermostat
« Reply #19 on: May 01, 2011, 05:16:52 PM »

The same way.   :'
Circuitry is the same in that area.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

southtoms

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: MS12A Modification to Thermostat
« Reply #20 on: May 15, 2011, 10:52:48 PM »

Can you tell me how to use the lux 9000 with a powerflash interface? Thanks.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12690
Re: MS12A Modification to Thermostat
« Reply #21 on: May 16, 2011, 06:39:44 AM »

southtoms; Are you trying to add a Powerflash to an existing TX9000TS or TX9000A connected to an heating and cooling system or just use one to trigger a powerflash module by itself?
« Last Edit: May 16, 2011, 04:28:11 PM by Brian H »
Logged

southtoms

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: MS12A Modification to Thermostat
« Reply #22 on: May 16, 2011, 09:17:30 PM »

I'm trying to get the lux 9000TS to activate the power flash. to send a signal to a RF124 to turn on the a/c in my motorhome.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12690
Re: MS12A Modification to Thermostat
« Reply #23 on: May 17, 2011, 06:19:01 AM »

I would try. Setting the Powerflash to "B" Dry Contact
Connect the two terminals of the Powerflash to the TX9000TS {RC-RH} and Y terminals.
Using the Cool setting on the TX9000TS.
Remember the thermostat has a short cycle protector in it to prevent the AC from starting too soon after turning off. So it may take up to 5 minutes for it to kick on. Depending on where you set the parameter too.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.