Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: automate modem reboot (power-cycle)  (Read 14978 times)

jagajutt

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
automate modem reboot (power-cycle)
« on: May 04, 2009, 06:56:49 AM »

Hi All,

I need some help.  I have the:
Marmitek X10 - CM15 Pro Computer Interface & Transceiver (CM15PRO)
Marmitek X10 Appliance Module (AM12U)

I bought this to reboot my cable modem when it goes offline.  (My modem is not easily accessible).  And using ActiveHome Pro Software I can reboot my modem.  The next step is to automate this as the modem goes offline when I am not home/or asleep.  Using the SDK should let me do this...

I was thinking a perl or java script that is running of my PC that will detect when there is no internet connectivity (ping ?) and then reboot the modem (J4 etc).  My PC is always on and has the CM15Pro connected via USB.

Rather than re-invent the wheel I was wondering if anybody has already done something similar.  From my searches it appears not.  I am not a coder so it is easier for me to use/ slightlymodify existing code.  I am a Networks guy (cisco, juniper etc.) so I'd be glad to help anybody with that.

Thank you for any help/advice you can provide.  I will get on with my google search of putting together the javascript myself  B:(

Jag
Logged

crowntown

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: -5
  • Posts: 84
Re: automate modem reboot (power-cycle)
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2009, 10:17:59 AM »

You might want to take a look at the 3rd party software "X10ping."
Logged

crowntown

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: -5
  • Posts: 84
Re: automate modem reboot (power-cycle)
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2009, 10:19:20 AM »

Logged

EL34

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 21
  • Posts: 278
    • My X-10 projects
Re: automate modem reboot (power-cycle)
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2009, 04:28:54 PM »

If you do not program, then I would look at the program mentioned above.

If you can code just a little, it's very easy to write a short piece of code in your favorite language to monitor your router or cable modem IP address on your network.
Then turn off and on a X10 appliance module when you want to reboot the router or modem.
Logged
W10 - CM15A - AHP 3.301 - i Witness - MyHouse online - Smart Macros - SDK using Visual Basic express 2008
My X10 page-> http://www.el34world.com/Misc/home/X10_0.htm

jagajutt

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: automate modem reboot (power-cycle)
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2009, 03:10:43 PM »

thanks everyone

x10ping worked for me - there was no need to re-invent the wheel.

X10 is pretty cool.  Shortly I will begin looking for some help finding a temperature controlled fan.  Maybe a USB temperature sensor, and when it detects the temp being to high automatically switches on a fan via X10 ....

Anyway thanks for the replies

Jag
Logged

EL34

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 21
  • Posts: 278
    • My X-10 projects
Re: automate modem reboot (power-cycle)
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2009, 02:33:16 PM »

Dallas one wire networks have all kinds of sensors.
I use temp, humidity, solar, rain gauges, voltage sensors, relay boards on my Dallas one wire network.

If you program, it's really easy to read a temp sensor on your one wire network and then turn on a X10 appliance module.

I have a small green house where I monitor soil temps, air temps, humitity, etc.
When the temp reaches 90 degrees at the top of the green house, I turn on 3 x 12 volt solar power fans that vent out the air to the outside and I turn on a X10 appliance module fan that circulates/mixes the air around inside the greenhouse.

I guess the Dallas one wire network is a bit of overkill for monitoring just one sensor.
Just throwing out info.
here's some info links on my web site
http://www.el34world.com/Misc/home/OneWireWeather.htm
http://www.el34world.com/Misc/home/X10_0.htm
Logged
W10 - CM15A - AHP 3.301 - i Witness - MyHouse online - Smart Macros - SDK using Visual Basic express 2008
My X10 page-> http://www.el34world.com/Misc/home/X10_0.htm

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: automate modem reboot (power-cycle)
« Reply #6 on: June 03, 2009, 04:55:24 PM »

You might want to take a look at the 3rd party software "X10ping."

"X10ping" is useful, but it will not reboot routers.  There's an intermittent problem where modems and routers get "out of sync" with each other.  Neither the modem or router manufactures know why it happens, but the fix is to shut both down unplug their power cords, reboot the PC and repower both.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9464
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: automate modem reboot (power-cycle)
« Reply #7 on: June 03, 2009, 05:01:05 PM »



"X10ping" is useful, but it will not reboot routers. 

Actualy it will with if the router is plugged into an appliance module  ;)
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

EL34

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 21
  • Posts: 278
    • My X-10 projects
Re: automate modem reboot (power-cycle)
« Reply #8 on: June 04, 2009, 01:26:23 PM »

Yeah, that's the way I reboot my Zoom DSL modem/router.

Power off / power on
Takes about 30 seconds or so to re-establish the DSL connection.

Just every once in a while my Router will lock up during a bad storm and I have to re-boot it.
My IP address changes after the router comes back up.
Logged
W10 - CM15A - AHP 3.301 - i Witness - MyHouse online - Smart Macros - SDK using Visual Basic express 2008
My X10 page-> http://www.el34world.com/Misc/home/X10_0.htm
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.