Contact | X10.com
July 23, 2014, 10:25:34 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: The X10 Community wants to know how you use your X10 system!
Share your story in the Automated Home Showcase.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Vanguard and streaming over the internet  (Read 8714 times)
mattv
Newbie


Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 3


« on: July 14, 2009, 01:13:59 PM »

All,

I am installing a X10 Vanguard system.  I have 4 cameras showing up in the Vanguard window as they should be but I seem to be running into an issue that many others have:  I cannot broadcast to the internet.  I called and was told to open up the ports that X10 suggests (80, 8888, 8080, 443) and I then went to the port checking website they use to test that all are correct.  Each worked properly.  However on the Vanguard software I press the connect button and then press the status button.  What I then see is the server for 15 - 20 sec saying Server online, then Server offline.  I am not able to stay connected, and the X10 gateway never shows any picture what so ever, nor do I ever receive any bytes of info.  I read through the forums for any possible solutions but I was unable to locate any.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I need to be doing differently?  Also is there any documentation for how to set up internet viewing?  I would love to walk through them step by step, but as my entire setup had no documentation I am kinda fumbling through it all.

Windows XP SP3
Vanguard 3.236 - Downloaded yesterday
2 GB RAM

Thanks for any thoughts or suggestions. 

Matt V
Logged
MANOWARę
Full Member
***

Helpful Post Rating: 3
Posts: 73


Your new messiah's me.


« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2009, 02:35:40 PM »

Broad casting video takes a lot of bandwidth. If you're not on cable or FIOS or a really fast DSL it could be timing out.
Logged

Lesbians killed the mullet for everyone.
mattv
Newbie


Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 3


« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2009, 02:52:20 PM »

It is in a business sitting on a partial T1, so I think the speed is ok.  Any other thoughts?

Matt

Broad casting video takes a lot of bandwidth. If you're not on cable or FIOS or a really fast DSL it could be timing out.
Logged
Knightrider
Community Organizer
Hero Member
**

Helpful Post Rating: 57
Posts: 1274


I want my BVC


WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2009, 02:56:33 PM »

Let's not forget that X10's server is flaky.
Logged

Invented in 1975?  Why doesn't everyone have it?

Satisfied BVC user since November 2007

Proud Supporter of Xenia Kids and Robots. 
Introducing kids to high technology and teamwork since 2009.

Check out This Automated House
mattv
Newbie


Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 3


« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2009, 03:01:23 PM »

That is what scares me - their support sent me Sentinel as an alternative.  Is this a better piece of software or just something to shut me up?

Matt
Logged
wanttouseit
Jr. Member
**

Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 22


« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2009, 09:19:34 PM »

What I then see is the server for 15 - 20 sec saying Server online, then Server offline.  I am not able to stay connected, and the X10 gateway never shows any picture what so ever, nor do I ever receive any bytes of info.  I read through the forums for any possible solutions but I was unable to locate any.



I don't get even registration yet.
But I expanded my port yesterday.
I went to the link from x10wiki
http://www.portforward.com/
I am using a router and I fund my router in this page.

Mine is lynksy I followed the information in the pages and I expanded my port in the lynksy site.

 I did something before I expanded the port, I checked out and wrote down my IP address and DSN etc.
All I followed the information in the page.

 I think you used X10.com NetworkGateway Analysis  http://www.x10.com/support/netinfo/netinfoadvance.htm

It showed you OK.

 But yours requires


When you use the NEtowrk Gateway random mode, it may be not OK to go.

  I expanded from 1 to 8888   in my lynksy portal site.

  About router explanation : http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/Wireless_Router_Configuration_for_X10_Compatibility

  You will find your router if your using this in the page

  http://www.portforward.com/

  And click an exact one your using the router.

   And follow all informations.

   It was so hard to me but I finished yesterday.

   port problem can be solve with this.

   

   
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | X10 Mini Timer
© Copyright 2013 X10.com All rights reserved.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!