Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: Vanguard and streaming over the internet  (Read 9932 times)

mattv

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Vanguard and streaming over the internet
« on: July 14, 2009, 05:13:59 PM »

All,

I am installing a X10 Vanguard system.  I have 4 cameras showing up in the Vanguard window as they should be but I seem to be running into an issue that many others have:  I cannot broadcast to the internet.  I called and was told to open up the ports that X10 suggests (80, 8888, 8080, 443) and I then went to the port checking website they use to test that all are correct.  Each worked properly.  However on the Vanguard software I press the connect button and then press the status button.  What I then see is the server for 15 - 20 sec saying Server online, then Server offline.  I am not able to stay connected, and the X10 gateway never shows any picture what so ever, nor do I ever receive any bytes of info.  I read through the forums for any possible solutions but I was unable to locate any.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I need to be doing differently?  Also is there any documentation for how to set up internet viewing?  I would love to walk through them step by step, but as my entire setup had no documentation I am kinda fumbling through it all.

Windows XP SP3
Vanguard 3.236 - Downloaded yesterday
2 GB RAM

Thanks for any thoughts or suggestions. 

Matt V
Logged

MANOWARę

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 75
  • Your new messiah's me.
Re: Vanguard and streaming over the internet
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2009, 06:35:40 PM »

Broad casting video takes a lot of bandwidth. If you're not on cable or FIOS or a really fast DSL it could be timing out.
Logged
Lesbians killed the mullet for everyone.

mattv

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: Vanguard and streaming over the internet
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2009, 06:52:20 PM »

It is in a business sitting on a partial T1, so I think the speed is ok.  Any other thoughts?

Matt

Broad casting video takes a lot of bandwidth. If you're not on cable or FIOS or a really fast DSL it could be timing out.
Logged

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 60
  • Posts: 1624
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: Vanguard and streaming over the internet
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2009, 06:56:33 PM »

Let's not forget that X10's server is flaky.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

mattv

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: Vanguard and streaming over the internet
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2009, 07:01:23 PM »

That is what scares me - their support sent me Sentinel as an alternative.  Is this a better piece of software or just something to shut me up?

Matt
Logged

wanttouseit

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 22
Re: Vanguard and streaming over the internet
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2009, 01:19:34 AM »

What I then see is the server for 15 - 20 sec saying Server online, then Server offline.  I am not able to stay connected, and the X10 gateway never shows any picture what so ever, nor do I ever receive any bytes of info.  I read through the forums for any possible solutions but I was unable to locate any.



I don't get even registration yet.
But I expanded my port yesterday.
I went to the link from x10wiki
http://www.portforward.com/
I am using a router and I fund my router in this page.

Mine is lynksy I followed the information in the pages and I expanded my port in the lynksy site.

 I did something before I expanded the port, I checked out and wrote down my IP address and DSN etc.
All I followed the information in the page.

 I think you used X10.com NetworkGateway Analysis  http://www.x10.com/support/netinfo/netinfoadvance.htm

It showed you OK.

 But yours requires


When you use the NEtowrk Gateway random mode, it may be not OK to go.

  I expanded from 1 to 8888   in my lynksy portal site.

  About router explanation : http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/Wireless_Router_Configuration_for_X10_Compatibility

  You will find your router if your using this in the page

  http://www.portforward.com/

  And click an exact one your using the router.

   And follow all informations.

   It was so hard to me but I finished yesterday.

   port problem can be solve with this.

   

   
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.