Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Newbie to x10... please help me  (Read 8214 times)

anarchoi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 11
Newbie to x10... please help me
« on: July 25, 2009, 09:26:27 AM »

Hello

Well the title says it all, i'm a total newbie to x10 and i just discovered it...

My project is to be able to remotly turn on/off 2 lights and 1 surge protector

i am planning to buy this item
http://cgi.ebay.com/WS467-l-X10-Automation-Wall-Switch-Module_W0QQitemZ140271768238QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item20a8d952ae&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=65%3A15|66%3A4|39%3A1|293%3A1|294%3A200
for my lights

but i don't know what i need for my surge protector...

For the remote control, i am planning to buy this item :
http://cgi.ebay.com/HR12A-l-X10-Automation-PalmPad-Controller_W0QQitemZ140271763087QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item20a8d93e8f&_trksid=p4634.c0.m14.l1262&_trkparms=|293%3A1|294%3A30

and this one:
http://cgi.ebay.com/KR19A-l-X10-Automation-SlimFire-Keychain-Remote-NEW_W0QQitemZ140271763689QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item20a8d940e9&_trksid=p4634.c0.m14.l1262&_trkparms=|293%3A1|294%3A30

What additional items will i need to do what i want ??

Also i don't understand how i will define which light is Light#1 and which one is Light#2.... could someone explain how it works??

One more question : Will i be able to turn off the 2 lights and my surge protector, all at the same time, while pressing only 1 button ??

thanks!!
Logged

anarchoi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 11
Re: Newbie to x10... please help me
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2009, 09:41:07 AM »

Hmmm i am also interessed by a window security system.... i noticed there is one for x10

i'm planning to use this item

http://cgi.ebay.com/X-10-DS10A-Door-Window-Security-Sensor-BRAND-NEW-X10_W0QQitemZ160320513804QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item2553d8e70c&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=65%3A12|66%3A4|39%3A1|72%3A1205|293%3A1|294%3A200

so i need a Protector Plus system like this one, right ?

http://cgi.ebay.com/X10-Protector-Plus-Wireless-Security-Console-X-10-PS561_W0QQitemZ370092989333QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item562b42db95&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=65%3A12|66%3A4|39%3A1|72%3A1205|293%3A1|294%3A200

It says the system will "flash lights" once the alarm is triggered....

will it work with the Wall Switch Module i posted previously??
Logged

Kramer Chins

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 16
  • Posts: 262
    • Kramer Chins
Re: Newbie to x10... please help me
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2009, 10:28:30 AM »

Hmmm i am also interessed by a window security system.... i noticed there is one for x10

i'm planning to use this item

http://cgi.ebay.com/X-10-DS10A-Door-Window-Security-Sensor-BRAND-NEW-X10_W0QQitemZ160320513804QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item2553d8e70c&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=65%3A12|66%3A4|39%3A1|72%3A1205|293%3A1|294%3A200

so i need a Protector Plus system like this one, right ?

http://cgi.ebay.com/X10-Protector-Plus-Wireless-Security-Console-X-10-PS561_W0QQitemZ370092989333QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item562b42db95&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=65%3A12|66%3A4|39%3A1|72%3A1205|293%3A1|294%3A200


It says the system will "flash lights" once the alarm is triggered....

will it work with the Wall Switch Module i posted previously??

>! Welcome to the forum !!

I would suggest going to X10.com for a complete package on the security system. Then you will get the console,window/door sensors,remote and motion sensors.

And yes the PS561 will work with the light switches (WS467). You will also need a transceiver either a TM751 or a RR501 so you can use your remotes to control your lights.

Logged
Registered Members of MCBA... WWW.KRAMERCHINS.COM

Trying to learn X10 Day by Day...........

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12666
Re: Newbie to x10... please help me
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2009, 12:17:56 PM »

If the House Code is the same as the console. It can act as a transceiver for normal X10 RF signals.
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5955
Re: Newbie to x10... please help me
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2009, 12:40:30 PM »

You may be able to use the RR501 or TM751 transceiver to switch your surge strip ON-OFF in addition to acting as the transceiver for your RF remote. It really depends on the physical location in your home. From a RF reception stand point a central location for the transceiver  is desireable. If that isn't possible then an Appliance Module would be needed for the surge strip and the transceiver would remain at the central location.

So you don't buy all this stuff and then get frustrated when some of it don't work, you might want to "bone up" at this site. http://jvde.us/x10_troubleshooting.htm.

"Noise", "Phase Coupling", and "Signal Suckers" are important topics.

And last but not least, the WS467 will ONLY work for 120V incandescent/halogen lights. Not CFLs, not LEDs, not standard fluorescent, not low voltage lights like undercabinet pucks, or some track light systems.

Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

anarchoi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 11
Re: Newbie to x10... please help me
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2009, 10:53:53 PM »

Thanks a lot for your answers! Very helpful! 24 hours ago i was confused and unserstood absolutly nothing, now i'm almost ready to buy!

Quote
If the House Code is the same as the console. It can act as a transceiver for normal X10 RF signals.
So i would be able to use remote control using the MiniTimer without the need of a transceiver?

Quote
"Noise", "Phase Coupling", and "Signal Suckers" are important topics.
Yes, i have read on wikipedia that there is a lot of problems with X10 technology, but if i understood correctly these 3 items are supposed to solve any of these problems.... right?

So i guess i should buy all these items because i will probably have problems

Quote
And last but not least, the WS467 will ONLY work for 120V incandescent/halogen lights. Not CFLs, not LEDs, not standard fluorescent, not low voltage lights like undercabinet pucks, or some track light systems.
Thanks for the info, i guess i will use with light switches instead....
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12666
Re: Newbie to x10... please help me
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2009, 08:42:29 AM »

No the MiniTimer will do power line signals and control modules. It does not receive any RF signals from remotes and motion sensors. A transceiver of some sort is needed.
The CM15A AHP controller can receive RF along with the TM751; RR501 and the Security Console. There maybe others that I have forgotten to mention.
Logged

anarchoi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 11
Re: Newbie to x10... please help me
« Reply #7 on: July 26, 2009, 10:39:44 PM »

whats is the difference between the TM751 and the RR501 ?
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Newbie to x10... please help me
« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2009, 06:54:10 AM »

Both are trancievers, but the TM751 will step on other X10 transmissions. The RR501 is polite and will wait until the line is clear to send.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12666
Re: Newbie to x10... please help me
« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2009, 12:06:55 PM »

TM751 is also hard wired to unit 1 for its internal relay and can only be controlled by an RF signal.

RR501 has a power line receiver in it so it can also be controlled by a power line signal or RF command. Has a switch for unit 1 or 9 for its local relay.

Is polite as Dan mentioned. OH mistake.  :' NOT POLITE!  ::)

I have seen the new version TM751 wit a better RF daughter card then the older ones. Same one as in the CM15A controller.
« Last Edit: July 28, 2009, 06:43:27 AM by Brian H »
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5955
Re: Newbie to x10... please help me
« Reply #10 on: July 27, 2009, 03:56:05 PM »


I have seen the new version TM751 wit a better RF daughter card then the older ones. Same one as in the CM15A controller.
Brian, If you have compared;

does the new TM751 have better range than the old? How about compared to the RR501?
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12666
Re: Newbie to x10... please help me
« Reply #11 on: July 27, 2009, 04:07:48 PM »

Yes much better than my older TM751 or RR501.
Much better than an unmodified CM15A. Most likely the antenna length comparing the CM15A and the TM751.
Still not polite.
Logged

anarchoi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 11
Re: Newbie to x10... please help me
« Reply #12 on: July 27, 2009, 08:57:12 PM »

Thanks a lot for your help guys.

I have just ordered all of my stuff... Hope i won't have trouble setting it up :)

Brian H, is this the model you are talking about?

http://cgi.ebay.com/X10-TRANSCEIVER-TM751-3-PACK-NEW-IMPROVED-RANGE-VERSION_W0QQitemZ400034025313QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item5d23e2cf61&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

This is the one i bought. The seller told me the receiver have 100-150feet range in optimal conditions, and 25-50 at worst.

From what i have read on google, the old model have a poor 20ft range



Now i think i am ready to buy my X10 Protector system

I'm wondering how the window alarms works.... Is it triggered ONLY when the window is open or it will also be triggered by vibrations or others random things? I live in an appartment so i want to be sure my alarm won't start ringing in the middle of the night :P So is there any problems with fake alarms

Also, when the alarm is triggered, will i need to manually type a code to desactivate it?

How long will the battery last inside the window sensors?

When the alarm is triggered, if the system reach someone on the phone will he be able to remotely turn off the alarm ?


thanks again!
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12666
Re: Newbie to x10... please help me
« Reply #13 on: July 28, 2009, 06:49:42 AM »

The TM751 is what your link was to. So yes that is what I was talking about.
Old or new version. Unknown as they looked the same. Even the same part number on the model sticker. When you get them look at the date code sticker. It may give us enough to say new or old.

The window and door sensors use a magnetic switch. So unless they are mounted at a marginal spacing. Vibrations should not be a probelm.

Security Motion sensors may need some planing as some things like air movement or pets can trigger them.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.