Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Sunrise buggy  (Read 3143 times)

Elfmaze

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 48
Sunrise buggy
« on: April 27, 2009, 10:33:27 PM »

Have the new "supposed" soft start lamp module.  Have tried defining them as either the lm465 or the LM14A.   

I am just trying to figure out the first command to send this thing.  I want it to slowly brighten from 0 to 100 over a half an hour.   

setting absolute dim to 3%  makes it ramp up to 100% wait a second or two then dim to 3%.   

Setting brite 3% makes it come up to almost 50% on first start up

and dimming to 0 letting it sit over night then britin' 3% never lets the bulb go out,  it always like a night lite.   

There has to be a way to do this right?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12853
Re: Sunrise buggy
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2009, 06:43:21 AM »

I don't think the new LM465 will dim to 0%. I believe mine are always above the 0% if I dim all the way down.
Logged

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Sunrise buggy
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2009, 11:12:06 AM »

....dimming to 0 letting it sit over night then britin' 3% never lets the bulb go out,  it always like a night lite....
True but then you can turn it off. When turned back on it will resume at the minimum dim setting.
You might find my post at http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=14985.0 to be helpful. Perhaps it will keep you from having to completely reinvent the wheel.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

Elfmaze

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 48
Re: Sunrise buggy
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2009, 11:28:01 AM »

Thanks, steven.   I thought i saw a post like that before but couldn't find it.   I haven't tried looping yet due to the nature of changing th etime every day i'm not sure how to do it yet.   BUT i did get the sunrise to work proper today.  What i had to do was make the sunrise macro a set of 30!  brite 3% with one minuit delays.  Not efficient and should be able to loop it but one thing at a time.    Now the trick was i had to make sure the sunrise lamp was set correctly before turning on in the morning.  so i made a Sunrise reset macro that goes off at 10PM every night.    the reset macro   turns the sunrise light ON,   Then dims to absolute 10%,  Then Dim by 50% to get to 0%,  waits 5 seconds for the dim to complete and turns the light off.   

I think there should be a cleaner way of doing it but it is working as is so time to move onto a new problem.   
Logged

Ericmil8

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 3
Re: Sunrise buggy
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2009, 05:23:02 PM »

I have been having the same issue and i just got a great solution. My switches WS4777 with soft start were dimming to 100 and then back down. very unappealing and there was a 4 sec or so delay.

I'm very excited because it works so much better now... thanks to boilers post http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=16648.msg91755#msg91755

all you have to do is in active home change the module type to LM14A. Now it issues Extended codes to the WS4777 switches. this is allot more efficient than having to issue an on command and then a dim to 70%. now my lights go straight to 30 % with just issuing an absolute command (with extended codes.)

This was causing all kinds of trouble for me. let me know if this helps and you can work it in to your macros.

_______________________________________

I just noticed you tried defining it as LM14A in activity monitor is it issuing extended codes? what is showing up in activity monitor? Also what versing of AHP do you have installed.

also are you using a repeater? because i know there are known issues with repeaters and the extended codes.

i have an LM465 laying around ill try messing with it later and see if it has the same issues. as my ws4777 switches
« Last Edit: August 13, 2009, 05:32:50 PM by Ericmil8 »
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.