Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Flash Memory for CM15A... Get rid of batteries.  (Read 8702 times)

gus gaglio

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 6
Flash Memory for CM15A... Get rid of batteries.
« on: September 23, 2009, 02:33:02 AM »

Hey X-10, don't you think it's about time we did away with the batteries for memory backup?
The rest of the world is using flash, can you explore the simplicity to modify the CM15A?
Sure would be nice !
Logged

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 107
  • Posts: 2068
    • XTB Home Page
Re: Flash Memory for CM15A... Get rid of batteries.
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2009, 08:49:22 AM »

Batteries are for the internal clock so it remembers the time if there is a power failure.

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12729
Re: Flash Memory for CM15A... Get rid of batteries.
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2009, 11:34:21 AM »

Yes it has a 24C64 EEPROM in it for storage.
Logged

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Flash Memory for CM15A... Get rid of batteries.
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2009, 12:25:00 AM »

Isn't some power required to execute macros and such also?
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: Flash Memory for CM15A... Get rid of batteries.
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2009, 01:06:27 AM »

Isn't some power required to execute macros and such also?

Not really.  Since macros mainly control X10 devices that can't operate if the power is off.  ;)

 >!
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.