Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: 2 New LM465's don't work in the same room  (Read 17827 times)

luisc202

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
2 New LM465's don't work in the same room
« on: October 11, 2009, 10:35:35 PM »

I programmed one LM465 for rope lighting for my room on B1 and another LM465 for a lamp on B2 and the B2 one does not work.  What would be causing this?  I have reporgrammed it over and over again with no luck.  I unplugged it and put it on a kamp 10 feet away and it works but not in the same room as the first one.

I also programmed a socket rocket and put it in the back yard porch light and it does not work.  I plugged it into the front door and it works.  The only difference is the CM15A is 15 feet upstairs by the front door.   

Any help would be appreciated.

Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5952
Re: 2 New LM465's don't work in the same room
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2009, 01:52:22 PM »

Your description sounds like a phase coupling problem, Although kind of odd to have two outlets in the same room on different phases.

Search the forum for "phase coupling", "noise" and "signal suckers" or go here:

http://jvde.us/x10_troubleshooting.htm
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12658
Re: 2 New LM465's don't work in the same room
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2009, 03:01:36 PM »

Well in my house. Half of the Living Room Outlets are on one phase and the rest on the other.
Sure glad I took the time to map everything.
Logged

luisc202

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Re: 2 New LM465's don't work in the same room
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2009, 02:02:19 PM »

Your description sounds like a phase coupling problem, Although kind of odd to have two outlets in the same room on different phases.

Search the forum for "phase coupling", "noise" and "signal suckers" or go here:

http://jvde.us/x10_troubleshooting.htm


I am happy to report that 95%  of my outlets are on  the right side of the electrical box.   The rear outside light is the only one on hte leftside of the electrical box.    Thank God that most of my stuff is on the right side..   Is it best to buy a meter to check for noise in a system?   I want to automate the chandelier now which is on a 2 way swtich I tihnk.

Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12658
Re: 2 New LM465's don't work in the same room
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2009, 02:34:16 PM »

Glad you have about 95% working. Now the fun starts.

Most times the breaker box is not split with one phase on each side. Most have alternate breakers on the other phase so you can have a 220 Volt feed with breakers next to each other.
Sounds like you have most on the same phase or the ones that are poor on a noisy or signal sucker circuit.
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5952
Re: 2 New LM465's don't work in the same room
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2009, 04:16:27 PM »

luisc202
Sorry, As you have read from Brian, Breakers are not phase divided by right side - left side. Unless you have a very unusual panel.

Remainder of my original comment about determining phase of breakers by position is retracted. To many configurations to speak in generalities.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2009, 07:17:10 AM by dave w »
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 106
  • Posts: 2058
    • XTB Home Page
Re: 2 New LM465's don't work in the same room
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2009, 04:43:31 PM »

luisc202
The top row of two breakers are phase A, the next row below is phase B,  and the next row below that is phase A again, this pattern repeats to the bottom.

Actually, that is not correct for all panels either.

(UPDATED)

The panel at our last house (I don't remember the brand) zig-zagged down each side:

A  B
B  A
A  B
B  A
 ...

The new Square D panel at this house does indeed flip every other line:

A  A
B  B
A  A 
B  B
 ...

Check how the busbars behind the breakers run down the panel to be sure.

Jeff
« Last Edit: October 13, 2009, 06:45:15 PM by JeffVolp »
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12658
Re: 2 New LM465's don't work in the same room
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2009, 06:21:04 PM »

Thanks Jeff for the added data.
As long as it isn't a Federal Pacific StabLoc  B:(.
A  B
A  B
A  B
B  A
B  A
B  A
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5952
Re: 2 New LM465's don't work in the same room
« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2009, 07:14:41 PM »

AND I KNEW THAT!

Brain is beginning to fester, or the two remaining neurons are acting up again.

Jeff and Brian, thanks for the corrections. I will amend my comments.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2009, 07:15:13 AM by dave w »
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5952
Re: 2 New LM465's don't work in the same room
« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2009, 07:33:34 PM »

Thanks Jeff for the added data.
As long as it isn't a Federal Pacific StabLoc  B:(.
A  B
A  B
A  B
B  A
B  A
B  A

So you can only get 220V at the blue and red positions?
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

bitman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 9
  • Posts: 589
Re: 2 New LM465's don't work in the same room
« Reply #10 on: October 13, 2009, 11:00:08 PM »

Well in my house. Half of the Living Room Outlets are on one phase and the rest on the other.
Sure glad I took the time to map everything.

That must've made you just mental!

Logged
Long live X10! - Because I just like it is all.....

luisc202

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Re: 2 New LM465's don't work in the same room
« Reply #11 on: October 15, 2009, 02:48:59 PM »

I went around my whole house and plugged an LM465 with a small CFL lamp to each outlet.   I turned it on and off from my laptop and seen I have no signal in my main tv room and the garage area where i put in 2 outlets.   How can I resolve this?   

Thanks,
Luis
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5952
Re: 2 New LM465's don't work in the same room
« Reply #12 on: October 15, 2009, 03:53:10 PM »

A X10 signal repeater is the easiest way. Do you have a 220V clothes dryer outlet?
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12658
Re: 2 New LM465's don't work in the same room
« Reply #13 on: October 15, 2009, 07:12:18 PM »

Using a CFL with a Lamp Module can lead to problems sometimes. Even at 100% On; I have seen some CFL models not like the AC from them and generate noise or draw more current. Other brands take it in stride.  ;D
Logged

luisc202

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Re: 2 New LM465's don't work in the same room
« Reply #14 on: October 29, 2009, 07:19:37 PM »

A X10 signal repeater is the easiest way. Do you have a 220V clothes dryer outlet?


Yes i do.  What signal repeater are you talking about?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.