Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Cant make a macro work with door/window sensor HELP please!  (Read 9426 times)

blaib

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 20
Cant make a macro work with door/window sensor HELP please!
« on: October 29, 2009, 09:53:39 PM »

Hello, I just received my X-10 CM15A, I have been into x10 for several years but never tried the PC interface.  I also bought some Door/window sensors DS10A.  What I want to do is what I thought would be simple.  Install the door sensors on the front and back doors, and between 11:00 PM and 5:00 am if someone opens the door have the door sensors send a command to the CM15A and turn on a few lights and sound the Mini powerhorn.  We’ll I set up the macro and go to the top and hit “use security” then where it says “If these are true”  I then clicked on the condition “if time is between” then I set it up 11:00pm and 5:00 am, then clicked on the condition “security sensor state” I made sure that it says sensor open.  It doesn’t matter what time I tell it the marco always runs, and I only want it to run between 11 and 5.  Any ideas? 

Thanks A lot
Brian Laib
Logged

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: Cant make a macro work with door/window sensor HELP please!
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2009, 11:19:23 PM »

Hello, I just received my X-10 CM15A, I have been into x10 for several years but never tried the PC interface.  I also bought some Door/window sensors DS10A.  What I want to do is what I thought would be simple.  Install the door sensors on the front and back doors, and between 11:00 PM and 5:00 am if someone opens the door have the door sensors send a command to the CM15A and turn on a few lights and sound the Mini powerhorn.  We’ll I set up the macro and go to the top and hit “use security” then where it says “If these are true”  I then clicked on the condition “if time is between” then I set it up 11:00pm and 5:00 am, then clicked on the condition “security sensor state” I made sure that it says sensor open.  It doesn’t matter what time I tell it the marco always runs, and I only want it to run between 11 and 5.  Any ideas? 

Thanks A lot
Brian Laib


If you're "testing" the macro by clicking its button in the AHP software, it will always run and ignore the conditions.  ;)

 >!
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

blaib

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 20
Re: Cant make a macro work with door/window sensor HELP please!
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2009, 08:03:53 AM »

I am actually opening the door to test it. I have checked my time in settings and everything seems ok. But it still always performs the macro B:(
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7061
Re: Cant make a macro work with door/window sensor HELP please!
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2009, 09:43:24 AM »

.........  I then clicked on the condition “if time is between” then I set it up 11:00pm and 5:00 am, then clicked on the condition “security sensor state” I made sure that it says sensor open.  It doesn’t matter what time I tell it the marco always runs, and I only want it to run between 11 and 5.  Any ideas? 

I always try to keep my macros as simple as possible. I use the timers to turn on and off a monitored fake/dummy module. I then use the status (on/off state) of the fake monitored module as the condition. My way of doing this would mean 2 or 3 separate... but very simple macros.

Also.. keep in mind that all security module macros (like ones that use the DS10A) run only on the PC.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2009, 09:45:35 AM by Dave_x10_L »
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

JMac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 462
Re: Cant make a macro work with door/window sensor HELP please!
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2009, 10:50:00 AM »

You need to research "OnAlert and Time Conditionals" here on the Forum.  KDR devised a security macro which will do what you want.  There are three macros involved and only one will include the timing conditionals.  Cumbersome looking but it works.
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2805
Re: Cant make a macro work with door/window sensor HELP please!
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2009, 12:51:02 PM »

From my experience, a time condition that crosses midnight (such as from 11 PM until 5 AM) doesn't work right.
I wrote mine as "Before 5 AM OR After 11 PM". Those seem to work better for me.

--Noam
Logged

blaib

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 20
Re: Cant make a macro work with door/window sensor HELP please!
« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2009, 04:50:59 PM »

Dave, I think I understand what you are saying but I cant completly make sense of it. Could you PLEASE give me a step by step?
I would sure appreciate it. Because for some reason my conditions will not work, but I think your way would If I could figure it out.
Thanks
Brian
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7061
Re: Cant make a macro work with door/window sensor HELP please!
« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2009, 05:15:22 PM »

create a room, your macro and modules for this will be in that room.

Have your timer turn on and off an appliance module. On at 11 and then off at 5. Or two timers... one turning the module ON.. then a 2nd timer turning the module OFF. The module doesn't need to be real... it's just a module in the new room you made. One of the house codes you use is monitored use a monitored code for your new fake module.

Make your new fake module the condition in your macro (also in the same room). If the module is ON then......
« Last Edit: October 31, 2009, 05:18:34 PM by Dave_x10_L »
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.