Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: SC2800 Antenna Upgrade ??  (Read 11357 times)

aba

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 42
SC2800 Antenna Upgrade ??
« on: December 01, 2009, 02:58:55 AM »

Guys,

Hoping you can help.

I have read alot on these forums with regard to upgrading antenna's on the likes of the CM15 etc, some posts are quite simple, some go into alot of detail about types of antenna, length, size, etc, etc and start to get a little confusing!!  :'

I have an issue, I'm hoping you can give me a steer on  :)


I have a SC2800 (not sure of the US equivelant but link here  http://www.marmitek.com/en/catalogus/product.php?product=235 )

It is currently placed under the stairs at floor level.  Far from ideal and have tried placing it in the bedroom on a side table but my 20mth son seems adamant he's going to button mash, so I've had to put it out of site.

I seem to get varying flashing lights on the controller for different sensors (window/door/motion) at varying times.  My conclusion is that the unit is poorly placed as it isn't one sensor thats causing a problem.

The antenna on the SC2800 seems to be a 6 inche long, 1mm piece of wire.  Can this be upgraded?  Can I wrap it around a long FM Radio type antenna to increase range?  I don't know what to try and am concerned I'll cause more problems than solutions.....after all there must be a reason why they have built the unit with such a small antenna ?????  Any recommendations??


Apologies in advance for the long post.

Thanks
Stace  :)
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6847
Re: SC2800 Antenna Upgrade ??
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2009, 05:54:16 AM »

..... I seem to get varying flashing lights on the controller for different sensors (window/door/motion) at varying times.  My conclusion is that the unit is poorly placed as it isn't one sensor thats causing a problem.

The "varying flashing lights" would seem to me... to be normal.. As doors open and close or motion sensors sense movement the lights should blink. Is the alarm working? Is it only seeing the lights blink that concerns you?
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

aba

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 42
Re: SC2800 Antenna Upgrade ??
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2009, 06:21:14 AM »

Hi Dave,

Do you live on this forum  ;D , Thanks for responding.

The alarm seems to be working fine but every now and again the unit fails to see a sensor and subsequently blinks alerting you that it has lost contact.  Its not always the same sensor and if you leave it for a few hours it seems to make contact again and the light goes out.

Thats why I'm thinking its a range issue.

Stace
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12690
Re: SC2800 Antenna Upgrade ??
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2009, 06:35:44 AM »

I looked at the SC2800 Manual from your link. Some of its features make ours look anemic.

Yes it does sound like you have a intermittent reception of varied sensors reporting in.

You could try wrapping a few turns of light wire around the antenna and having it extend above the original maybe another 6".
Are the sensors mounted on metal or are there many walls between the sensors and the console?
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6847
Re: SC2800 Antenna Upgrade ??
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2009, 07:24:39 AM »

Do you live on this forum 

No... I have a small apartment above the forum.
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

aba

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 42
Re: SC2800 Antenna Upgrade ??
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2009, 07:54:29 AM »

What are the downsides of trying to extend the antenna or should you be careful in what you use?

I was thinking of taking the sheath of of the unit antenna (simply pulling it off), wrapping the wire and taping around something like this...

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=868

or maybe

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=217745


Worth a try or not ?  Its under the stairs so I don't care how it looks.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12690
Re: SC2800 Antenna Upgrade ??
« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2009, 09:25:42 AM »

You may want to try just wrapping some wire around the plastic sheath. It will be capacitive coupled to the wire inside it. If it helps then you can think about more radical measures.
Logged

aba

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 42
Re: SC2800 Antenna Upgrade ??
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2009, 10:00:37 AM »

Brian,

I'll give that a go tonight.  What diameter wire should I use?

Thanks
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12690
Re: SC2800 Antenna Upgrade ??
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2009, 10:09:53 AM »

Thin wire like maybe #22 or #24 as it is easy to use.
Heavier is fine; but maybe harder to warp around the plastic tube.

Logged

aba

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 42
Re: SC2800 Antenna Upgrade ??
« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2009, 10:14:53 AM »

Thanks Brian,

Apols for the lame question but its OK in its sheath or shall I strip it?.  B:(


Incidently, Brian/Dave, I've hit the helpful buttons, Thanks  >!
« Last Edit: December 01, 2009, 10:16:34 AM by stace »
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5971
Re: SC2800 Antenna Upgrade ??
« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2009, 11:55:12 AM »

Stealing this thread for a second, so will help answer the sheath question. If the sheath is standard plastic insulation, you can leave it on the wire. (over here "sheath" might imply a metal shield like you would find on coaxial cable...that  would need to removed.

X10 in Europe offers better, more updated products than we see in the US. I wish we had a security system as nice looking as the SC2800. Plus since your RF sensors all have antennas, the system probably has better range than our DS7000.

Do you know what frequency the remote sensors transmit on?
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

aba

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 42
Re: SC2800 Antenna Upgrade ??
« Reply #11 on: December 01, 2009, 11:59:20 AM »

I assumed 433mhz but not entirely sure.

Is there anywhere I can upload a PDF, I have quite a detailed one on X10 and its components??


edit:  I found it online if its of any use...  http://www.x10sive.co.za/x10new.pdf
« Last Edit: December 01, 2009, 12:05:29 PM by stace »
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12690
Re: SC2800 Antenna Upgrade ??
« Reply #12 on: December 01, 2009, 12:45:38 PM »

Thank you for the link. Looks good.

The specifications sheet link in the original post shows 433.92 MHz.

Your goodies look so nice. Our sensors don't have nice external transmitting antennas.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2009, 12:51:11 PM by Brian H »
Logged

Loveheart

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 41
  • Name of my BVC is Lisa
    • Lisa.x10
Re: SC2800 Antenna Upgrade ??
« Reply #13 on: December 24, 2011, 03:59:15 AM »

i have a question about Marmitek SC2800

when someone push the panic button,how can i set it of
i now only know to remove the power.
maby someone know the normal way to set off??
Logged
Greetings Loveheart

My WebSite:  http://lisa-x10.webklik.nl/
don't forget to sign my guestbook !

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12690
Re: SC2800 Antenna Upgrade ??
« Reply #14 on: December 24, 2011, 06:35:20 AM »

Have you tried the Disarm Button on your Security Remote or entering your four digit PIN Number?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.