Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: Finally got my gear  (Read 26241 times)

eagle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 187
Finally got my gear
« on: December 12, 2009, 02:23:42 PM »

Hi ya folks,

After combing through pages of threads here, reading user comments, and comparing the dizzying array of X10 sales, I finalized my list and placed my order yesterday.

It's a starter home automation system.  I will be adding cameras later.  I want to make sure first that all the gear play together well before moving on to the next phase.

So, here's what I got:

1 ActiveHome Professional Computer Interface and USB Cable (CM15A)
1 ActiveHome Professional Software (SW31A)
1 Smart Macro Software Module for ActiveHome Pro (SW32A)
1 iWatchOut Software Module for ActiveHome Pro (SW33A)
1 myHouse Online Software Module for ActiveHome Pro (SW34A)
1 ActiveHome Pro - On-Alert Home Security Solution (SW39A)

7 Socket Rocket (screw-in lamp module) (LM15A)

9 3-pin Appliance Module (AM466)
2 PalmPad Remote Controls (HR12A)
2 Small Wireless Transceivers (TM751)

1 Remote Chime (SC546A)
3 Floodlight Security Lights (PR511)
3 Home Security Decal/Window Stickers (MM024)
4 ActiveEye Wireless Motion Sensors (MS16A)

1 Tiny Audio/Video Receiver (VR42A)
1 NightWatch Wireless Low-Light B/W Video Camera (XX20A)
1 XCam2 Battery Pack (ZB10A)
1 XCam Camera Tripod (ZT10A)

I plan to get BVC and a couple of baby monitors.

I haven't had time yet but I will install AHP some time this weekend.

By the way, I will give kudos to Greg W. of X10 who was very helpful with my order.  He was very responsive and patient with all my questions.  He was able to help apply the $15 Gift Certificate to my purchase also.

I didn't get the email for the software download and registration codes, so Greg initiated an email and sent me the information right away.  Excellent customer support thus far.

Thanks to members here who have been instrumental with their posts in convincing me to get an X10 system.  I attribute my decision primarily to Dave_X10_W's posts and website.  He has an awesome setup and has been kind enough to address my concerns and answer my questions.

I'll let you know my progress.  It probably won't be until after Christmas though.  Too much stuff to do.

Anyway, I hope you don't mind if I post a few questions and draw from your collective wisdom as I'm sure I'll run into a few things that an X10 newbie like will be unaware of. 

r,
eagle
Logged

HA Dave

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 173
  • Posts: 6624
Re: Finally got my gear
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2009, 04:42:01 PM »

A nice list! You'll have a nice setup before you know it. According to X10... everything sets up in about 5 minutes. Don't believe it. Take your time and enjoy the process. X10 can be frustrating or fun... or a little of both. but it always comes together.
Logged
If X10 doesn't jump on the AI band wagon soon...
...there ain't going to be no X10 dance! 

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 285
  • Posts: 12458
Re: Finally got my gear
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2009, 04:43:34 PM »

Glad you got your stuff.
Keep us informed to progress and questions as needed.
Logged

eagle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 187
Re: Finally got my gear
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2009, 07:00:34 PM »

Hi guys,

I just installed AHP V3.228.  The tip about the patch file worked.

Registered it just fine.

Installed the driver for the CM15A just fine.

Initially had "problems" installing the plugins.

I was clicking on the Download Plugins from AHP but nothing was happening even though the floating window was saying "Updating Plugins".  I let it sit for a while but after about 20 minutes, I decided to halt it.

I figured I'd open the V2.236 file sent to me by x10.  I unzipped it and lo and behold found the plug-ins there. 

I installed each one without any problems.

Now off to familiarizing myself with the new toy.  :)

r,
eagle
« Last Edit: December 15, 2009, 07:32:25 PM by eagle »
Logged

eagle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 187
Re: Finally got my gear
« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2009, 08:24:47 PM »

Okay... I've been playing around with AHP.

Added an appliance module.  Turned a lamp on and off manually via AHP without any problems.

Created a timer for it.  No go.

After a few tries.  Still no go.

Click on Help, then About.

Whoa!  V2.236.

I guess using the file x10 sent me for plugins upgraded AHP.  :(

Any ideas how to download the plugins without upgrading AHP to .236?

BTW, how do you uninstall AHP and the plug-ins?  They don't show up in the Control Panel, Add/Remove programs.

r,
eagle
« Last Edit: December 15, 2009, 08:30:19 PM by eagle »
Logged

eagle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 187
Re: Finally got my gear
« Reply #5 on: December 15, 2009, 09:01:20 PM »

Okay... I simply launched V2.204 and installed it right on top of .236.  Then upgraded to .228.

Launched AHP. Checked version and it is .228.

All plugins are still there though:  iWatchout, OnAlert, MyHouse, SmartMacros.

Created new room, added an appliance module, manually turned lamp on and on (no problem), added a timer and still no joy.  It doesn't work.  Made the module into a lamp module.  Can manually turn on and off but not via timer. 

Any suggestions?

r,
eagle
Logged

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1739
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: Finally got my gear
« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2009, 09:43:00 PM »

check the "on instead of bright 100%" box?
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

eagle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 187
Re: Finally got my gear
« Reply #7 on: December 15, 2009, 09:58:13 PM »

Hi Knightrider,

Attached is a screenshot of what I've done.

I created two test modules for the same AM466 appliance module.  Both will turn on and off the lamp attached to the AM466 if that is what you mean by clicking on the On button.  However, neither timer assigned to each work. :)

Any suggestions for me to try would be appreciated.

I'm thinking of completely uninstalling but how do you do that since it doesn't have an unistall feature or even show up on the Control Panel?

r,
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Finally got my gear
« Reply #8 on: December 15, 2009, 10:32:09 PM »

Where did you get those modules in 3.228?  I use 3.228 and my AM466's don't look like yours in AHP?
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

eagle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 187
Re: Finally got my gear
« Reply #9 on: December 15, 2009, 10:47:51 PM »

Hi Dan,

The real AM466 is the one of the right.  When I edited the other AM466 on the left, I neglected to rename it.  It is actually an LM465 lamp module.  Sorry about that.

Would you happen to know how I can uninstall AHP completely including the plug-ins?

r,
eagle
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Finally got my gear
« Reply #10 on: December 16, 2009, 07:27:22 PM »

Don't think I need to based on your successful post in the other section.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1739
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: Finally got my gear
« Reply #11 on: December 16, 2009, 08:42:48 PM »


Hi Knightrider,

Attached is a screenshot of what I've done.

I created two test modules for the same AM466 appliance module.  Both will turn on and off the lamp attached to the AM466 if that is what you mean by clicking on the On button.  However, neither timer assigned to each work. :)

Any suggestions for me to try would be appreciated.

I'm thinking of completely uninstalling but how do you do that since it doesn't have an unistall feature or even show up on the Control Panel?

r,
check the "on instead of bright 100%" box?


Tools >> Preferences >> Macro Options
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

eagle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 187
Re: Finally got my gear
« Reply #12 on: December 16, 2009, 08:53:43 PM »

Thanks Knightridder for pointing that out.

I'm still getting myself familiarized with AHP and the plug-ins.

r,
eagle
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.