Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Using Rocket Sockets Stick a Switches and Motion Detectors with CFLs  (Read 3574 times)

jstorino

• Helpful Post Rating: 0

Hello everyone.  I am new to X10, but am eager to get started.  However, I need some assistance making sure I am heading in the right direction

I have two old light fixtures, one above my front porch, the other above the side entrance to my garage door.  I would like both of these lights to turn on when the motion detector trips.  I also want the ability to turn at least the light above my front door on or off manually from a switch inside the house.  I was going to purchase the following devices to do this, would this be correct?

1 motion detector MS14A - Used to trip both light fixtures.

1 XP1A Switch - to turn front porch light on/off from inside the house.  I know I need a neutral wire.  Or, can I get away with a rocket socket LM15A and use a "Stick a Switch" SS13A?  I am confused about using these rocket socets with CFLs

1 Rocket Socket LM15A - For the Garage entrance fixture (if it can be used with CFLs).
This is a little more complicated.  The light currently has a standard on/off switch inside my garage that I plan on leaving the way it is.  I know I have to leave the switch in the on position at all times.  The light will only turn on if the motion detector trips it, or if I use a "Stick a Switch" SS13A from inside the house to turn it on or off.

I assume I will need a controller to make all of this function.  I was going to first try things out with the basic TM751 Wireless Transciever, but then thought maybe the Active Home bundle which comes with the transceiver might be the better way to go in the long run.

Please let me know if I am heading in the right direction.  Thanks in advance!

Brian H

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
Re: Using Rocket Sockets Stick a Switches and Motion Detectors with CFLs