Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: How to choose a filter or module?  (Read 9744 times)

Brandt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 728
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
How to choose a filter or module?
« on: January 04, 2010, 01:59:32 PM »

Obviously, I know a lamp module goes to a lamp, etc...

But what is a quick way to find out the amperage and wattage that your device needs/produces in order to make sure you are choosing a suitable filter or module?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12828
Re: How to choose a filter or module?
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2010, 03:07:37 PM »

One thing you can do is, see if the device has a ratings label on it.
 
If it is rated in watts there are formulas to figure out typical amps from the wattage rating.

Another factor is what the device is you want to filter. Some things like a washer with electronic controls; has a motor in it that will  draw starting current that is higher than the running current.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2010, 03:24:49 PM by Brian H »
Logged

Mellowmark

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 195
  • M M Electric
Re: How to choose a filter or module?
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2010, 09:00:03 PM »

look for the amperage or divide the wattage by the voltage measured and that will give you the amperage

v= volts
I= Amps
P= Watts

P/v=I
v*I=P
 
If you don't have a meter use 110 volts instead of 120 so you end up with a high estimate.  You want to make sure the filter is rated over and above what it will be filtering.
Logged
M M ElectricMan

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1743
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: How to choose a filter or module?
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2010, 09:22:31 PM »

Finally!!!

Someone else who uses "P", "I" and "V" for the variables.  I was starting to think I was the only one who learned it that way.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6089
Re: How to choose a filter or module?
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2010, 12:07:45 PM »

Finally!!!

Someone else who uses "P", "I" and "V" for the variables.  I was starting to think I was the only one who learned it that way.
What, don't tell me Ohm's Law is now politically incorrect too?  ;)
« Last Edit: January 05, 2010, 12:18:36 PM by dave w »
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

twood

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 22
Re: How to choose a filter or module?
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2010, 12:17:15 PM »

That's the way I learned Ohm's Law, too.  Just recognize that this simple equation is for purely resistive loads.  Any inductive loads (transformers, ballasts, motors) will have a much higher and prolonged initial inrush current.  That's why you usually see labels with multiple ratings--the highest amperage capacity being for resistive loads (incandescent lamps, resistive heaters), and ratings for motors usually expressed in hp.
Logged
Life is good...even better when it's automated.

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7043
Re: How to choose a filter or module?
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2010, 12:26:33 PM »

That's the way I learned Ohm's Law, too. 

Well I heard in order to make the smart grid work... Congress was going to appeal Omh's law. Free Ohms for everyone!!!
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

cantbreak80

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 24
Re: How to choose a filter or module?
« Reply #7 on: January 05, 2010, 01:25:18 PM »

Dad was frustrated by the neighborhood kids helping themselves to our little fruit orchard.

So, he strung a length of “guy wire” around the perimeter and attached a couple of signs:

                   Caution!!!
          20,000 Ohms!”


It cured the poaching...but a week later a concerned citizen called city hall.
The town cop was sent out to enforce the ordinance against dangerous electric fences.   rofl
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6089
Re: How to choose a filter or module?
« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2010, 03:56:19 PM »

 :)%
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Brandt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 728
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: How to choose a filter or module?
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2010, 04:14:19 AM »

This is sort of a no brainer question....

Can x10 modules act as filters? I mean everyone says to put a filter on noisy or signal sucking equipment....but what if you put and appliance module on it...would that work the same?

For example, they say to plug your computer equipment into the plug on the back of the CM11a. Does the computer equipment still need to go through a filter before being plugged into the CM11a, like the filter piggy-backing on the CM11a?

I have a couple mini-fridges in the house as well as a full sized one. Could an appliance module be used instead of a 5A or 10A filter?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12828
Re: How to choose a filter or module?
« Reply #10 on: January 10, 2010, 09:47:35 AM »

No an X10 module will not act as a noise filter in the X10 signal range.
Logged

Brandt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 728
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: How to choose a filter or module?
« Reply #11 on: January 10, 2010, 02:28:57 PM »

That makes sense, seeing how people say to put an x10 filter between a T12 flour light and the appliance module.


So when you guys filter your CFL cans, you can still control them with x10 I assume.
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: How to choose a filter or module?
« Reply #12 on: January 10, 2010, 04:20:27 PM »

Filters are used to kill signals from devices (like computers and certain cell phone chargers) that block x10 signals.  Modules (light and appliance) DO NOT filter.

An appliance module can be used to control a florescent floor lamp as it does not dim.   Lamp modules control lights.   
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12828
Re: How to choose a filter or module?
« Reply #13 on: January 10, 2010, 06:00:44 PM »

If the filter is between the module and the load it should work. If the filter gets between the module and the AC power to it. Then the X10 signal never gets to the module to control it.
I have a filter on my UPS AC Line Cord. Not because it makes noise but the line filters in it; absorb X10 signals as noise which it is not.
Logged

Brandt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 728
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: How to choose a filter or module?
« Reply #14 on: January 13, 2010, 01:48:19 AM »

ok I got an XTBM and WOW my powerlines are hostile.

even with the XTBM and maxicontroller plugged into the same outlet I only got likeX1.00 or X0.99 on the readout.


At the same outlet, just plugging the XTBM in the wall it read X0.03 (there is a signalinc repeater)

In the master bedroom the XTBM couldn't even pass the self-test when plugged in with the power strip containing the tv, dvr, etc

In my bedroom, the voltage dropped from X0.63 to X0.03 when the tv was plugged in, and back up to X0.49 with a filter.

yikes....
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.