Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Stacked switches  (Read 4534 times)

Brandt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 728
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Stacked switches
« on: January 28, 2010, 11:55:58 PM »

Does X10 have any stacked switches like:
http://images.lowes.com/product/032664/032664161308.jpg

The bottom switch would control 4  flourescent lights above the kitchen, and the top switch would control a ceiling fan/light combo.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 272
  • Posts: 10182
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: Stacked switches
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2010, 08:52:36 AM »

I believe Smarthome has something like that.
I have seen stacked switches but at the moment I don't remember where maybe even at Automatedoutlet.
I don't think they were X10 but if I remember correctly they were compatible. ;)
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Brandt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 728
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: Stacked switches
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2010, 11:36:15 AM »

Smarthome said they don't. Let me know if you can find them!
Logged

Mellowmark

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 195
  • M M Electric
Re: Stacked switches
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2010, 07:52:08 PM »

Insteon has a switch that will control additonal addresses and maybe you could use a inline device for the fan.
Logged
M M ElectricMan

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12875
Re: Stacked switches
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2010, 06:15:53 AM »

You could also get one of the X10Pro XPT transmitter base units and a button plate to match your needs. That way a fixture module would be needed in both devices you wanted controlled.

The Smarthome six or eight button KeypadLinc can control one local load and the other buttons can control a fixture module. Comes in both a relay or dimmer type. One thing I do not know is if the individual buttons can all be assigned a different X10 code. I don't think they can and only the primary On and Off buttons can.
Logged

Duck69

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 36
  • Posts: 246
  • Unselfish Love
Re: Stacked switches
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2010, 12:17:36 PM »

What about a XP2-W Two button keypad (old style). or a XPT4-W Wall base transmitter & 4 button keypad.
They allows control of sequential X10 addresses with On and Off commands.
Such as A1, A2 etc.. or F3, F4 etc..
With the XPT you can buy the base unit. Then buy the button plate with the # of buttons that you need.

This is complimentary to Brian's post below.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2010, 12:24:00 PM by Duck69 »
Logged
"I'm not lazy, I'm just Resistant to exertion."

Brandt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 728
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: Stacked switches
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2010, 07:18:16 PM »

What is recommended for the inline module?

Something like this?   http://www.smarthome.com/2250AW/HomePro-Fixture-Relay-Module-20A-W-AGC/p.aspx
Logged

dbemowsk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 21
  • Posts: 428
    • PHP Web Scripting
Re: Stacked switches
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2010, 07:51:07 PM »

With the XPT line of switches, there is not a recommended module per-se.  The XPT is ONLY a transmitter.  Depending on the switch plate you get for it, determines it's function.  You can get plates that are on-off only, an you can get ones that are on-off with bright-dim.  These will control any x10 module that will accept a PLC command.  It can also be used with other switches to make them act as multi way (3 way, 4 way, etc...) switches.   I have one of these in my living room with 4 buttons.  The top 3 are L1, L2, and L3 on-off, and the bottom switch is the bright dim switch.

Also, IMHO, these have a much better tactile feel than the other lower end x10 switches.

Hope that helps.

Dan B.
Logged
Dan Bemowski
Owner of PHP Web Scripting LLC
Programmer of RemoteWatch X10
User of any X10 products I can get my hands on.
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.