Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Windows host process (Rundll32) has stopped working.  (Read 31431 times)

isacorro

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Windows host process (Rundll32) has stopped working.
« on: February 19, 2010, 03:08:52 PM »

Hello!!!! I really need help!!!

I have problems recording with the vanguard application, I get the error: "Windows host process (Rundll32) has stopped working" when it stops recording.
I clicked on the video film to start recording but as soon as I click on it again the software crashes with the error.

I tried from different post:

**********************************************************
Go to C:\ My imiges and rename the folder to what ever you want. Start vanguard.. Did not work  B:(
**********************************************************
**********************************************************

1. Open your computer and expand your C drive
2. Expand Program files
3. Expand Common Files
4. Expand X10
5. Click on Common
6. Right click on rundll32.exe
7. Left click properties
8. Click Compatibility Tab
9. Put a check mark in the box for Disable display scaling on high DPI settings
10. Click OK
11. Start you Vanguard program
12. Sometimes my does not open fully, the left part of the window is gone, just minimize the window and open it up again.
13. Click the little film strip and record some video.
14. Click it again and you should not get the error.
15. It you still have problems go back to the properties and try some differently Compatibility modes.

You might also change your color resolution from 32 Bit to 16 Bit
Maybe also try changing your screen resolution to something lower.

Did not work....  B:(
**********************************************************
**********************************************************
1. Delete the folder at C:\Program Files\Vanguard. Disconnect your VA11A Video Capture Adapter.
2. Reboot the computer.
3. Go to My computer | C: | Program files | Common files.
4. Delete the ‘X10’ folder. If you receive a message that states you cannot delete this folder, go to step 5. If you can delete it, go to step 9.
5. Press the Crtl, Alt, and Del buttons on your keyboard at the same time to bring up Task Manager.
6. Click on Processes. End process for x10net.exe.
7. Delete the ‘X10’ folder in the ‘Common Files’ folder.
8. If this does not work, reboot the computer and repeatedly press F8 while it loads to bring up the Safe Mode menu. Boot into Safe Mode and delete the ‘X10’ folder in the ‘Common Files’ folder.
9. Reboot the computer.
10. Install the Vanguard software and plug in the VA11A when prompted.
11. Reboot the computer again.
12. Rename the C:\My Images folder to C:\My Old Images (or just delete it.)
13. Open Vanguard, go into Options-Video Rec, select Record in Standard AVI format, and hit OK.

Did not work.....  B:(

**********************************************************
**********************************************************

I created a support ticket with the x10 guys and Eric Boyd is telling me I need to buy the motion sensor..... how "#!$... he is refusing to support my product because of that.

I have also tried this on Vista and Windows 7
I have tried a different PC.


Please help!!!
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12819
Re: Windows host process (Rundll32) has stopped working.
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2010, 03:24:49 PM »

What version of Windows?
If you have Vista and I would imagine Windows 7 you need a VA12A interface.
http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/VA11A
« Last Edit: February 19, 2010, 03:28:07 PM by Brian H »
Logged

reyesjc743

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 11
Re: Windows host process (Rundll32) has stopped working.
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2010, 05:14:16 PM »

See this video, I hope help you..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UfY5ncwsQVQ
Logged

isacorro

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: Windows host process (Rundll32) has stopped working.
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2010, 01:08:39 PM »

What version of Windows?
If you have Vista and I would imagine Windows 7 you need a VA12A interface.
http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/VA11A

Yes I have the VA12A interface, drivers were install fine and I can open my Vanguard software without any issues, but I get the problem when I stop recording only
Logged

isacorro

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: Windows host process (Rundll32) has stopped working.
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2010, 11:34:20 AM »

I have waitted for more than 90 days for X10 to fix thi problem and nobody from tech support or from the forums was able to do it.... PLEASE DO NOT BUY X10 PRODUCTS..... they never work as they describe and there is no tech support that can help you.
Logged

s0ck

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: Windows host process (Rundll32) has stopped working.
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2010, 09:46:57 AM »

I had this problem running Windows 7. I could start recording but when I stopped recording i got the rundll32 error mentioned above. To solve it I went to C:\Program Files\Common Files\X10\Common\ where I found the file rundll32. RIGHT click the file then hit properties, then the compatibility tab, put a check mark in the box that says run this program in compatibility mode for then set it windows xp service pack 3 then hit ok. I haven't had any issues since. Hope it works for you. Good luck.
Logged

s0ck

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: Windows host process (Rundll32) has stopped working.
« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2010, 10:18:05 AM »

UPDATE: Changing the compatibilty mode helped my problem but I still get the rundll error after recording frequently. Before I changed the mode it was every time.
Logged

james000222

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 6
Re: Windows host process (Rundll32) has stopped working.
« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2010, 08:31:37 PM »

First post here, I've had this problem too.

I have multiple platforms, but started with Windows 7. The rundll32 error occurs for me no matter what compatibility settings I use.

On Vista - no problems for the most part. I have had one rundll32 failure, but in general no issues there. Problems lie elsewhere (see next post).

Haven't tried XP yet. Haven't tried Mac yet. Haven't tried Linux yet.  :)

I saw a comment about changing video compatibility settings?
"9. Put a check mark in the box for Disable display scaling on high DPI settings"

Has that been an issue for anyone? I have high end video hardware, lots of video codecs too. Might this be an issue?
Logged

tbohman

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Windows host process (Rundll32) has stopped working.
« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2010, 04:17:06 PM »

there is a fix and after lots of trial and error I found it you need to go into control panel admin services then component services then services local click x10 device networking then stop the service then you can open vanguard and record again each time you stop recording you might have to stop the service again but it will record for as many days as you want as long as you dont stop the recording if you do you will have to stop the service before you start to record again
Logged

pantarra

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 22
Re: Windows host process (Rundll32) has stopped working.
« Reply #9 on: August 19, 2010, 01:21:05 AM »

Im having the same problem When I changed my setting to AVi Recordings vanguard no longer opens just a box in bottom task bar.I tied every suggestion and none worked....I dont want to reinstall and system restore isnt working either...
Logged

jonamojo

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: Windows host process (Rundll32) has stopped working.
« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2010, 02:51:09 AM »

man this is a bummer, I've got the same problem as everybody else I'm at a loss of what to do next. Is there anybody out there who knows how to fix this?
Logged

jonamojo

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: Windows host process (Rundll32) has stopped working.
« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2010, 02:34:14 AM »

will the software work with xp?
Logged

J.B.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 16
  • Posts: 319
Re: Windows host process (Rundll32) has stopped working.
« Reply #12 on: October 05, 2010, 02:58:45 AM »

What is your version of Vanguard?
There was an updated one recently released, version 3.285.
If you do not have the latest version, you can find it here:
ftp://ftp.x10.com/pub/applications/vanguard/sw26a_vanguard.exe

The software should work on XP, AFAIK.

Logged

harrydr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 19
Re: Windows host process (Rundll32) has stopped working.
« Reply #13 on: July 01, 2011, 09:09:21 AM »

 :( ???Now working on this problem around 2 days. Have done every possible changes on my windows 7 system. No results.
Before x10 told me that I have to use the va12a instead of the va11a, which was not recognized on my system. So I bought the va12a now I got in this trouble. Sh... Don't understand that a company likes x10 can not solve this problem.
Will all my friends tell not to buy anything from x10.
x10 you call this service? Thanks!
Logged

cattrax

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Windows host process (Rundll32) has stopped working.
« Reply #14 on: August 17, 2011, 04:37:16 PM »

Just received my x10 wireless and got the same problem you all have with windows rundll 32 stopped working and app. crashing. It's the software! I just clicked on my Roxio video capture and there was the camera's video. If you have another video capture program, try it. I'm running Windows 7.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.