Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: hvac automation  (Read 32371 times)

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12645
Re: hvac automation
« Reply #30 on: May 14, 2010, 12:31:50 PM »

Brandt; You beat me to the punch by maybe 30 seconds.  :)%

Yes the TBX16 can do X10 signaling.
http://www.resconsys.com/products/stats/x10.htm
« Last Edit: May 14, 2010, 01:13:27 PM by Brian H »
Logged

Brandt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 728
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: hvac automation
« Reply #31 on: May 14, 2010, 01:07:30 PM »

Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12645
Re: hvac automation
« Reply #32 on: May 14, 2010, 01:12:40 PM »

OK guess I can't read either.  ???
Will correct and remember.
Sorry corrected.
Logged

Deemar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 116
Re: hvac automation
« Reply #33 on: May 14, 2010, 03:07:55 PM »

Well i've done the bench tests so far on the txb16 unit i received off ebay and all is well.
Who did you get it from? I search Ebay for txb16 and it comes back with nothing.
Logged

Brandt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 728
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: hvac automation
« Reply #34 on: May 14, 2010, 03:32:22 PM »

you gotta have your feelers out there...you can setup saved searches on ebay, and it will email you when someone puts one up for sale

keywords: "rcs thermostat"
Logged

dbemowsk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 21
  • Posts: 428
    • PHP Web Scripting
Re: hvac automation
« Reply #35 on: May 14, 2010, 05:27:21 PM »

Brandt,

What model is the TCM that came with your unit?  I am guessing that yours has an RJ11 jack to plug in a TW523 or a PSC05 for the X10 side of things.  I think that the TCM that I have with mine can handle a TW523, but I am not sure.  If my TCM is the same model, I will try out the X10 control.  I currently have it wired for serial RS485 control, but would like some X10 control if possible.
Logged
Dan Bemowski
Owner of PHP Web Scripting LLC
Programmer of RemoteWatch X10
User of any X10 products I can get my hands on.

Brandt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 728
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: hvac automation
« Reply #36 on: May 14, 2010, 05:59:55 PM »

The board TCU is a TXB16 Rev D....they are now on Rev P, but it has a rj-11 jack and a dc jack for 12vdc for bench tests, the WDU is a TS16
Logged

Deemar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 116
Re: hvac automation
« Reply #37 on: May 14, 2010, 06:18:05 PM »

Is this it? http://cgi.ebay.com/RCS-TU16-UPB-Home-Automation-Thermostat-New-/260501948213?cmd=ViewItem&pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3ca7204735#ht_543wt_1165 Looks like the same thing but has a different model number. Is there anything else you need to buy besides this to get it to work with X10?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12645
Re: hvac automation
« Reply #38 on: May 14, 2010, 06:21:04 PM »

The sales page indicates it uses the UPB automation protocol.
Logged

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 93
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: hvac automation
« Reply #39 on: May 14, 2010, 06:29:23 PM »

The sales page indicates it uses the UPB automation protocol.

And UPB is NOT X10 compatible!
Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

Brandt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 728
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: hvac automation
« Reply #40 on: May 14, 2010, 06:36:24 PM »

Well i've done the bench tests so far on the txb16 unit i received off ebay and all is well.
Who did you get it from? I search Ebay for txb16 and it comes back with nothing.


http://www.google.com/products?hl=en&q=rcs%20txb16&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=N&tab=wf
Logged

dbemowsk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 21
  • Posts: 428
    • PHP Web Scripting
Re: hvac automation
« Reply #41 on: May 14, 2010, 10:08:00 PM »

After looking at my control module for my thermostat, I noticed something.  It appears that RCS makes different modules for different protocols.  Mine happens to be an RS485 serial module where as Brandt's module is for X10.  It appears that the same circuit board is use for the RS485, X10 and UPB models.  My guess is that the indicated microprocessor chip is programmed for whatever protocol the module is being used for.  My unit as seen below is missing the RJ11 jack and probably some other components used for X10 and UPB power line interfaces.


I would bet if Brandt looked at his board, it would probably look similar.  The processor chip on mine is marked with HFRP3052  I would bet that Brandt's would probably start with HFXP**** with the R and X being for Rs485 and X10 respectively. 

What I am getting at with all of this is that if you want a thermostat with X10 control, you will need to buy one with the X10 capability built in.  I am sure that if I wanted to use my unit with X10, I could keep my TS40 wall display unit and just get the X10 capable control module.
« Last Edit: November 01, 2010, 10:48:17 PM by dbemowsk »
Logged
Dan Bemowski
Owner of PHP Web Scripting LLC
Programmer of RemoteWatch X10
User of any X10 products I can get my hands on.

Brandt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 728
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: hvac automation
« Reply #42 on: May 15, 2010, 02:04:28 AM »

My board looks nothing like that as it's an older revision D powered by a 12vdc wall wart. Ill take a pic tomorrow I'm too tired right now..

Anyway I tried installing it tonight and am getting myself confused by all the wires. Hopefully somebody can make sense of this:

There is a red and white pair coming out of the ceiling which I assume is going to the 'fan box' outside. On the original terminal strip on the gas heater system; red was connected to C and White was connected to Y.

The other wire's coming from the original thermostat as described a couple posts above were connected to the terminal strip on the gas heater as follows:
R - Red Wire
W - White Wire
G - Blue Wire
C - Red wire (From the pair mentioned above)
Y - White wire (From the pair above), and Yellow wire

So I got the wall unit wired to the control unit ok, but Now I am having trouble connecting these six wires to the control unit.

On the Rev D TXB16 the connections are as follows:

Rc (red cooling) - The red wire from the ceiling (fan box)
Rh (red heating) - red wire going to R on the terminal strip
W1 (heat stage 1 call) - White wire going to W on the terminal strip
G (fan call) - Green wire going to G on the terminal strip
Y1 (compressor stage 1 call) - Blue wire going to Y on the terminal strip
O (W2) (heat stage 2 call) - Not used?
Y2 (compressor stage 2 call) - Not Used?


If the red wire from the ceiling was originally connected to C (common) should it be connected to Rc on the TCU?
If the white wire from the ceiling was originally connected to Y (compressor) should it be connected to Y1 or Y2 on the TCU?


EDIT:

Ahh the peace in the house when staying up late and working on something.
I got it working. I ended up leave the red and white wires from the fan box outside connected to their original place on the terminal strip and using the jumper between Rc and Rh on the TCU that is suggested on single transformer systems
« Last Edit: May 15, 2010, 03:05:48 AM by Brandt »
Logged

nightrader_

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: hvac automation
« Reply #43 on: May 16, 2010, 10:18:56 AM »

The HVAC control circuit is really very simple:

Red    - Common
White - Heat
Blue   - Cool
Green - Fan/Blower

If you close connection between common and any of the three you will turn on that action. With that in mind it is simple to control with X10 modules.  There are many options, but if you are wanting to DIY with X10, with a few of the Door/Window Sensors (DS10A) and a few of the Universal Modules (UM506), it should be a snap.
Logged

Brandt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 728
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: hvac automation
« Reply #44 on: May 20, 2010, 02:19:55 PM »

I was just informed by the RCS tech support that the TS60 wall display unit is not compatible with the TXB16 Thermostat control unit.

However, you can add a zone controller using baffles to create zones to the TXB16:

http://www.resconsys.com/products/zonepanels/2%20and%204%20Zone.htm


and for the RS485 guy:

http://www.resconsys.com/products/zonepanels/ZCVx.htm
« Last Edit: May 20, 2010, 02:21:34 PM by Brandt »
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.