Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: A single button remote?  (Read 12876 times)

aslamma

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 76
A single button remote?
« on: April 02, 2010, 12:38:23 PM »

I am looking to assemble single buttons to create a custom remote control.  Ideally I would need the buttons from a keychain unit, but all as individual units.  I would then put them into a custom remote control housing.

Any ideas for something like this?
Logged

Brandt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 728
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: A single button remote?
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2010, 01:31:04 PM »

remote control for what?
Logged

bitman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 9
  • Posts: 589
Re: A single button remote?
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2010, 01:44:00 PM »

Is the Big Red Button x10 compatible or just x10 alarm system compatible?

Logged
Long live X10! - Because I just like it is all.....

aslamma

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 76
Re: A single button remote?
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2010, 01:46:51 PM »

No it needs to be a single small button so I can make a custom remote control
from a series of them.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12664
Re: A single button remote?
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2010, 01:49:37 PM »

The KR15A is an odd duck. If you hold the Red Button for a short time is sends an On signal to the modules address. Never sends an off.
Hold it longer it then sends some Dim commands that make the small powerhorn siren ding.
Longer and it sets off the powerhorns siren.

It can also be registered with the Security Console or so the manual says. I never used on with a security setup.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2010, 01:52:00 PM by Brian H »
Logged

Brandt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 728
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: A single button remote?
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2010, 01:56:09 PM »

remote control for what?


Can you give us some insight/background info?
Logged

aslamma

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 76
Re: A single button remote?
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2010, 02:02:01 PM »

I want to build a custom remote control that would have hard buttons on the bottom and an hold an iPod at the top.  Similar to the pronto, rti, or urc offerings. 

I was thinking of either hacking an existing remote or to build one from an assembly of x10 buttons
Logged

bitman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 9
  • Posts: 589
Re: A single button remote?
« Reply #7 on: April 02, 2010, 03:27:12 PM »

The BIG red button prolly has a small small switch and pcb.
Logged
Long live X10! - Because I just like it is all.....

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5955
Re: A single button remote?
« Reply #8 on: April 02, 2010, 06:41:59 PM »

I want to build a custom remote control that would have hard buttons on the bottom and an hold an iPod at the top.  Similar to the pronto, rti, or urc offerings. 

I was thinking of either hacking an existing remote or to build one from an assembly of x10 buttons
What about hacking a Palm Pad controller? Wire/solder the switches you want in your Ipod holder to the button traces on the PC board of the palm Pad. You would need a momentary contact switch for each ON and OFF function.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

aslamma

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 76
Re: A single button remote?
« Reply #9 on: April 02, 2010, 07:17:09 PM »

That is not such a bad idea and would about the right form factor.  I could probably even use buttons from an icon remote or other remotes even?

Big problem with the palmpad is that it sends out multiple commands.  That can be mitigated with a delay in triggering the ir unit, but is bad if you want to press commands quickly such as going through a list. 
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5955
Re: A single button remote?
« Reply #10 on: April 03, 2010, 01:42:30 PM »



Big problem with the palmpad is that it sends out multiple commands.  That can be mitigated with a delay in triggering the ir unit, but is bad if you want to press commands quickly such as going through a list. 
Well not understanding exactly what you are trying to accomplish, I suppose you could hack a "Maxi" controller which separates Address code from Command code. (assuming that is what you mean by "multiple commands" when you said the Palm Pad had a problem ). But those contacts on the Maxi Unit buttons and Function (command) buttons are all line level which means your remote control won't be portable and the switches, wiring, and design need to be suitable for 120V.

I don't suppose the Icon remote does what you want(?).
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

aslamma

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 76
Re: A single button remote?
« Reply #11 on: April 04, 2010, 04:08:26 PM »

So changing gears a bit. 

I really want two tiny buttons that I can stick into an ipad edge for master volume control.  Looking at the keychain remote and it's just too big for that.  Need something even smaller!  The slimline switch is the right thickness, but too much junk in there hack it up.   
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5955
Re: A single button remote?
« Reply #12 on: April 04, 2010, 05:21:18 PM »

So changing gears a bit. 

I really want two tiny buttons that I can stick into an ipad edge for master volume control. 
Ah! now I see....
Well really I don't, because I don't know what an iPad (Pod?) Edge is, but do you really see this as an application for X10?
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

aslamma

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 76
Re: A single button remote?
« Reply #13 on: April 04, 2010, 07:56:57 PM »

No idea, maybe not.  But gotta try some things and see what works.  I don't have any better ideas.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.