Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: House To House X10 Control  (Read 6648 times)

Dave4720

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 81
House To House X10 Control
« on: April 26, 2010, 03:01:50 PM »

I have two houses in two different zip codes.  Can I send X10 commands from one house to the other and control things in one house from the other house?
Logged

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 107
  • Posts: 2064
    • XTB Home Page
Re: House To House X10 Control
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2010, 03:09:46 PM »


I don't know why that made me chuckle because I suppose you are serious.  Some people have trouble controlling things inside their own house, let alone a house across town or perhaps even further away.  That would take one heck of a XTB!

Kidding aside, X10 used to offer a telephone controller.  You could call it up and issue commands through the touchtone keypad.  I believe that has been discontinued, but there may still be some kicking around in inventories.

I don't use the CM15A myself, but I believe it has some ability for control by the Internet.  Perhaps someone else here can expand on that feature.

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

Deemar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 116
Re: House To House X10 Control
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2010, 03:40:58 PM »

Not sure if this is exactly what you're looking for but if you've got a computer and transponder in each house then you can do it. From one house, SSH into the computer at the other house. Run command line arguments to the second machine which is hooked to the X10 network and it'll issue commands to turn things on/off. I do it from my phone all the time.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6875
Re: House To House X10 Control
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2010, 03:49:19 PM »

I don't know why that made me chuckle because I suppose you are serious. 

Reminds of of the old story of the:..   
Man that when to the American Airline counter at the Columbus Ohio Airport. He asked the lady behind the counter if she could fly him to Chicago... and his luggage to Miami.
She replied: no sir we can't do that.
He said: Good... you did last time accidentally.. and I was hoping things had changed.

There are some apps....  logmein (the free version) is popular (so I've read) you can search for it here. Also the creator of Melloware is a member here at the forum. That is the [famous] remote X10 control that uses an iphone or ipod.
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12713
Re: House To House X10 Control
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2010, 03:54:49 PM »

The Touchtone Responder may work for you.
I believe the X10Pro version PHC06 is still in some vendors inventory.
A Goggle search found a few vendors. If yo go that route check the prices as I saw a varied price from vendors.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9480
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: House To House X10 Control
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2010, 04:30:27 PM »

I have two houses in two different zip codes.  Can I send X10 commands from one house to the other and control things in one house from the other house?

The simple answer is YES.

How you wish to do this is up to you!
If you just want to do simple tasks a telephone responder will work.
If you want more complicated stuff a computer running 24/7 will be needed at the home you wish to receive the commands.
There are many applications that can do this.
You can do it over the internet, do it with voice control or touch tones over the phone lines.
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Brandt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 728
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
Re: House To House X10 Control
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2010, 05:55:36 PM »

If you are running a remote AHP server in the remote house, the simplest thing you could do is configure RDP rdesktop on your windows machines.

There are also other alternatives, such as VNC, or simple webapps too...
Logged

Dave4720

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 81
Re: House To House X10 Control
« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2010, 06:54:07 PM »

Sorry guys for the kidding.  I was just in a fun poking mood as this weekend went SO well with the progress I made with the XTBM and Jeff Vís help.  ;D

The two houses I have are next to each other, and yes, they have two different zip codes.  (Hey, the boundary line has to be somewhere!)  They share the same power pole and work quite well together with the XTB-IIR.

You guys are great because you offered some really good advice.  Jeff V - Iím surprised you didnít recognize me.   ;)

XTMB Rocks!
XTB-IIR Rocks!
V572 Transceiver rocks.

Bending over now to receive spanking for pulling X10 communitiesí leg.
Logged

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 107
  • Posts: 2064
    • XTB Home Page
Re: House To House X10 Control
« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2010, 08:05:26 PM »

Jeff V - I'm surprised you didn't recognize me.   ;)

The different zip codes threw me.  We have two zip codes here, and they pretty much cut the city in half.  The zip codes are handled by two different post offices.  In this part of town the division seems to run along I-15.  I wouldn't think two adjacent houses would be in different zip codes unless a roadway ran between them.

FYI - I have received emails from hundreds of people looking to improve the operation of their X10 systems.  A number have had detached buildings or separate houses they wanted to control.

Jeff
« Last Edit: April 27, 2010, 12:36:45 PM by JeffVolp »
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.