Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: XPR2 Receptacle  (Read 5837 times)

abc1667xxxxx537

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 23
XPR2 Receptacle
« on: May 12, 2010, 02:20:44 PM »

I realize the XPR2 receptacle is 250 VAC but there are a lot of things that operate 100-240 VAC. So, with that, will the XPR2 receptacle work wired up 120VAC?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12695
Re: XPR2 Receptacle
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2010, 02:37:35 PM »

OK this was a test with a VERY old X10-HD-243 plug in 220 Volt 15 Amp module. That was made by BSR USA. It basically was a wall receptacle in an added external case. It did fire with a 120 volt line feeding it. That said it may not be reliable in all cases. The 220 volt keyed sockets will not match their 120 volt counterparts. Combination of horizontal and vertical pins are different between a 220 volt and 120 volt 20 amp connection.

So the XPR2 may or may not work. It was designed to run on 220 volts and has receptacles to match the 220 volt requirements.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2010, 07:03:01 PM by Brian H »
Logged

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 107
  • Posts: 2059
    • XTB Home Page
Re: XPR2 Receptacle
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2010, 11:22:30 PM »


Several years ago I tested a Leviton 240VAC receptacle on 120V, and it did not work.  It did work fine when powered by 240V.

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

abc1667xxxxx537

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 23
Re: XPR2 Receptacle
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2010, 07:06:47 PM »

Thanks for the feedback.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.