Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: VCR Commander  (Read 5780 times)

bud229

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 6
VCR Commander
« on: May 29, 2010, 12:58:33 PM »

 :( I can't get my VCR commander to learn my remote I have tried so many times I also tried my DVR remote to see if that would work but no the brand name on my vcr is a Emerson and the DVR that I have is a Pioneer
I don't have the IR cable hooked up like it told me in the manual.
Please if anybody could tell me why it's not working??
It learned the motion sensors ok.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12703
Re: VCR Commander
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2010, 01:14:14 PM »

Does the DVR Remote also work in other rooms? If so it maybe using an RF signal back to the DVR.

Here is a link to theVCR Commander setup page in the wiki.
http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/Setting_Up_and_Learning_with_VCR_Commander
http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/VCR_Commander_%26_VCR_Commander_II_Setup
Are you pointing the remote at the back of the VCR Commander like the photos show?
« Last Edit: May 29, 2010, 01:41:53 PM by Brian H »
Logged

nybuck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 17
  • Posts: 405
Re: VCR Commander
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2010, 07:56:25 PM »

It is not easy.  There are many posts describing tips and tricks in detail. 
The remote batteries and placement during the learning process are critical.

Try this link for detailed help:
http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=8734.0

Good Luck!   ;D
Logged
>!

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6856
Re: VCR Commander
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2010, 11:44:24 PM »

I don't have the IR cable hooked up like it told me in the manual.

You need to have the cables disconnected while learning the IR. Then the IR cables must be plugged in (and attached to the device)... to send the IR to the device (VCR/DVR).
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

bud229

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 6
Re: VCR Commander
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2010, 11:22:46 PM »

Thanks for the video Brian H, I watched that it told me the right stuff the manual is missed printed thy need to fix that.
After I got done with that I tested it a and it seemed to be working.
Now I just got to get the Vanguard software working right so I can watch my cameras online.
Thanks for all the help. 
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12703
Re: VCR Commander
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2010, 06:03:04 AM »

Glad it is now working for you.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.